Fitting cat back Remus exhaust Leon cupra st help

Scottg2540

Sep 4, 2020
Hi has anyone fitted the cat back exhaust to there car and is it a easy job or would you recommend a garage instead?

Pierre Goffin

Nov 22, 2019
Hi has anyone fitted the cat back exhaust to there car and is it a easy job or would you recommend a garage instead?
Hi

I did it myself (opf back on my st 2019 model). I'm no mechanics, I'm not well equipped but it really is a simple job... as soon as you can lift the car.

I built some ramp and secured with Jack stands and then it's a matter of 9 bolts for unmounting (M13 M14 and M15 Hex if my memory is correct) :
- 2 for the main clamp to the down pipe
- 4 for the exhaust securing brace
- 3 for exhaust mounts (with silent blocks) 1 just one the middle of the car and 2 that are supporting right and left back boxes.
You only have to slide one fixation that supported only with a silent block (maybe the hardest part).

For the installation of remus one, exactly the same the other way around exception made that it comes in 4 or 5 different pieces you have to clamp together. It take a bit of time to adjust it right but it's not complex. I think tightening torque is around 35 NM for the clamps.

Reactions: Scottg2540

Sh1no

Aug 27, 2020
Hi, are you happy with the result? Improved sound? No drone?

Thanks,

Pierre Goffin

Nov 22, 2019
Hi, are you happy with the result? Improved sound? No drone?

Thanks,
Hi Guys, you can hear a bit of it here :

I didn't experienced any loud drone but I still have a bit of resonnance around 2500 to 3000 rpm. Not that it's really anoying, but it sound a bit louder in that rev range with a medium load (20 to 40%).

Reactions: queen

Sh1no

Aug 27, 2020
Hi Pierre,

thanks for sharing the video. Definitely sounds like a massive improvement over stock exhaust.

Has it been recorded in Cupra mode (I guess so) ?