MIB3: Wireless Full Link (CarPlay + AndroidAuto) works! Thanks to OBD11

It's not just on models with SFD. It applies to newer MQB, all MQBevo & MLBevo.

SFDv2 is coming along soon, this isn't something that will be accessible via obdeleven or even independent workshops đŸ˜‘. It'll also be present across all platforms.

The diagnostic firewall is designed to prevent the vehicle being manipulated without the knowledge of the owner/driver. With most vehicles now having an online connection, this makes more and more sense. It's a legal requirement for new vehicles.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Tell

Tell

Full Member
Staff member
Moderator
Anything with Evo in it đŸ˜‰. SFD was to get a piece of the action by Vag on coding by passing tokens between the backend system in Vag and the coding provider. My interpretation but ofcourse Vag could severe the link if they wanted to. Bonnet up prevents driving whilst coding đŸ˜‚. Its good it was opened up to third party coding, it was thought that was the end of the road for user coding when SFD was deployed.

Not sure whether Obdeleven Pro tells you to open the bonnet on these models but certainly engine running without SFD and with SFD bonnet up and engine running. Turning the infotainment system off aids connection and then a full scan, and clear before any coding is the order of the day.
 
Nov 4, 2023
1
0
It's not just on models with SFD. It applies to newer MQB, all MQBevo & MLBevo.

SFDv2 is coming along soon, this isn't something that will be accessible via obdeleven or even independent workshops đŸ˜‘

The diagnostic firewall is designed to prevent the vehicle being manipulated without the knowledge of the owner/driver. With most vehicles now having an online connection, this makes more and more sense
Hello. I would like to ask if you can find out on the basis of my VIN in the report the activation of a wireless Android car via OBD11.
 

Tell

Full Member
Staff member
Moderator
Presume they are build codes. Over to @East Yorkshire Retrofits . The mod is a suck it and see. If you happen to have a coding device you can try it for free if not then it's an investment that may pay dividends. It's the wireless bit that is being switched on by the mod, car play and Android auto are already configured.

The mod as published enabled the wireless side of it. It's how they sell the cars in tiers. For wireless it was just a question of turning it on but East Yorkshire said that might not always work. Just so far it has because all the kit was in the car, just needed a software switch to configure.

Wireless uses a dual band for the connection. Some phones need fumbling for that. You read it, so if the phone isn't correctly set up or doesn't do it, that side won't work.
 

Tell

Full Member
Staff member
Moderator
Presume they are build codes. Over to @East Yorkshire Retrofits . The mod is a suck it and see. If you happen to have a coding device you can try it for free if not then it's an investment that may pay dividends. It's the wireless bit that is being switched on by the mod, car play and Android auto are already configured.

The mod as published enabled the wireless side of it. It's how they sell the cars in tiers. For wireless it was just a question of turning it on but East Yorkshire said that might not always work (post 2). Just so far it has because all the kit was in the car, just needed a software switch to configure.

Wireless uses a dual band for the connection. Some phones need fumbling for that. You read it, so if the phone isn't correctly set up or doesn't do it, that side won't work.
 

CosmicBlue

Enjoying retirement
Nov 25, 2023
112
79
Warwick, UK
I've had a 2020 Audi RSQ3 and 2020 Audi A1, both with MIB2 and obtained Wireless Android Auto using a dongle: Wireless Android Auto adapter on Amazon

It connects automatically in maybe 10 seconds. These devices seem to do the authentication with Bluetooth and then use 5Ghz Wifi for data transfer - would make sense for good bandwidth. There is no software to install it just works.

This is the only way I've used AA so far so don't know if aggressive phone battery depletion is the norm or a feature of this approach. Plugged into a front USB port and then attached to the upper surface of the centre cubby with double-sided tape its virtually invisible.

Has anyone tried this on an Ateca?
 
I've had a 2020 Audi RSQ3 and 2020 Audi A1, both with MIB2 and obtained Wireless Android Auto using a dongle: Wireless Android Auto adapter on Amazon

It connects automatically in maybe 10 seconds. These devices seem to do the authentication with Bluetooth and then use 5Ghz Wifi for data transfer - would make sense for good bandwidth. There is no software to install it just works.

This is the only way I've used AA so far so don't know if aggressive phone battery depletion is the norm or a feature of this approach. Plugged into a front USB port and then attached to the upper surface of the centre cubby with double-sided tape its virtually invisible.

Has anyone tried this on an Ateca?
Wireless Full Link is only ever a good idea for short journeys, or for vehicles with a wireless charger

Otherwise you're going to end up connecting via usb anyway
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tell

Tell

Full Member
Staff member
Moderator
Wireless Full Link is only ever a good idea for short journeys, or for vehicles with a wireless charger

Otherwise you're going to end up connecting via usb anyway
Some of the earth early Ateca's had built in wireless chargers (Xcellence)... mine was suppose to, due to a miss build error it didnt. Seat UK mangled it's build codes on the early ones with the optional mib2 high, so the factory didn't build what was in the spec đŸ˜¨. Elsewhere in Europe they were valid builds but of course LHD. Lack of attention to detail there between the factory and MK. Buying second hand you may find these and base models never did have wireless charging.

You can tell in an Ateca or other similar models the phone sits on a rubber plate... if it looks like a coin tray where you are going to put the phone, it hasn't got wireless charging. Not got a seat cushion for the phone.

The other variable on USB power was the early Atecas up to 2018 or so models only put out 1amp. Newer phones need 2amp so the initial design doesn't push out enough voltage to run Android Auto etc. You get warned on Android phones that you are using the wrong charger. Beyond 2018 or so they sorted it out so the USB pushes out 2 amp presume ditto wireless charing.

Mib3 Full Link came out in 2020 and an option on early ones was for the wireless activation at purchase. What the thread is about is the possibility of activating the back connection of full link if it was bought without. Just simple recoding. Here wireless charging does the business on these units.
 
Last edited:
Apr 15, 2024
5
1
Hallo. I have a 2024 Seat Arona and mib3 unit. Making the encodings required for wireless Carplay activation with obd11 pro, but it warns that 'the connection could not be established'. Where am I making a mistake? Can you help with wireless carplay?
 

Attachments

  • IMG_7012.png
    IMG_7012.png
    203.2 KB · Views: 53
  • IMG_6969.jpeg
    IMG_6969.jpeg
    585.7 KB · Views: 51
  • IMG_7048.jpeg
    IMG_7048.jpeg
    393.6 KB · Views: 52

Tell

Full Member
Staff member
Moderator
Hallo. I have a 2024 Seat Arona and mib3 unit. Making the encodings required for wireless Carplay activation with obd11 pro, but it warns that 'the connection could not be established'. Where am I making a mistake? Can you help with wireless carplay?
Did you do a reboot of the unit ?. Yours is an H59. The original poster said H57 and H58. They might have altered what you can do now. Any H59 people out there ?.
 
Apr 15, 2024
5
1
Did you do a reboot of the unit ?. Yours is an H59. The original poster said H57 and H58. They might have altered what you can do now. Any H59 people out there ?.
Yes of course I restarted it many times with many changes.
Is there no wifi in the H59 unit? Or is there a missing swap code?
 

Tell

Full Member
Staff member
Moderator
@firozat You might also try one of the wifi analysis programs such as


If the 5ghz band radiates a signal you should see it under the channels. I might be told that the car doesn't operate like that, let @East Yorkshire Retrofits to check that for me.

It's the wifi analysis tools I use to set up home wifi and mesh to keep off other neighbours bands and away from clashes. If the car does radiate the 5ghz band in that mode you'd see it.

Just an idea. Anyone can check that for me. How I knew my mib2 high 2017 unit doesn't work on the 5ghz band even if software enabled. No beacon.
 
Apr 15, 2024
5
1
I don't have swap codes 00040100 & 00071c00.
What is the meaning of these missing codes? Can I register these swap codes with Obd11? Or can I do it with odis-e?
 

Tell

Full Member
Staff member
Moderator
You won't be able to do it with obd11. The swap / FeC codes are how Vag protects it's income. It's like buying a 4k TV but they disable 4k and you pay the difference between HD and 4k to get it turned on if you need it. Its under software control.

It's now more heavily encrypted in mib3. So whilst mib2 is broken mib3 isn't to my knowledge. Retrofitters may have made progress of it on "the bench". Firing up passwords till they get into it which is how mib2 was originally done. They might have read the rom chips in the unit (how satellite encryption was broken). Pass on how they got their lists of passwords for mib2 on the bench. Mib2 with the toolkits was done by injecting a module into the unit via POI import, why some people say the POI import is disabled on mib3. They didn't lock down POI import with an encrypted SLA1 signature method. Thus the same retrofitter methods on the bench could be put into the unit in the car via the green menu. That's all mib2, not mib3

Odis-e if that's the commercial one then yes. May be some other product. It connects to the mother ship of Vag and says money taken, enable this unit.... basically.

I'm sure East Yorkshire Retrofits will say exactly what the proper tools are if you are a garage with the Vag licensed software. They subscribe to the official tools as I understand it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: firozat
Apr 15, 2024
5
1
You won't be able to do it with obd11. The swap / FeC codes are how Vag protects it's income. It's like buying a 4k TV but they disable 4k and you pay the difference between HD and 4k to get it turned on if you need it. Its under software control.

It's now more heavily encrypted in mib3. So whilst mib2 is broken mib3 isn't to my knowledge. Retrofitters may have made progress of it on "the bench". Firing up passwords till they get into it which is how mib2 was originally done. They might have read the rom chips in the unit (how satellite encryption was broken). Pass on how they got their lists of passwords for mib2 on the bench. Mib2 with the toolkits was done by injecting a module into the unit via POI import, why some people say the POI import is disabled on mib3. They didn't lock down POI import with an encrypted SLA1 signature method. Thus the same retrofitter methods on the bench could be put into the unit in the car via the green menu. That's all mib2, not mib3

Odis-e if that's the commercial one then yes. May be some other product. It connects to the mother ship of Vag and says money taken, enable this unit.... basically.

I'm sure East Yorkshire Retrofits will say exactly what the proper tools are if you are a garage with the Vag licensed software. They subscribe to the official tools as I understand it.
I understand, thank you for your help. As a result, I still couldn't get the wireless carplay to work :) I'm waiting for help and response from @East Yorkshire Retrofits . We have Odis program (not online), if it can help by connecting remotely, I am ready to pay if the fee is reasonable :)
 

Tell

Full Member
Staff member
Moderator
I understand, thank you for your help. As a result, I still couldn't get the wireless carplay to work :) I'm waiting for help and response from @East Yorkshire Retrofits . We have Odis program (not online), if it can help by connecting remotely, I am ready to pay if the fee is reasonable :)
Let us know if you get a solution on this thread.
 
  • Like
Reactions: firozat
Apr 15, 2024
5
1
We hacked the unit and solved the problem. Both the wifi was active and we activated the original navigation.
 

Attachments

  • E93F265D-C704-4BE7-B8C1-62C5E16BB995.jpeg
    E93F265D-C704-4BE7-B8C1-62C5E16BB995.jpeg
    536.9 KB · Views: 23
  • Like
Reactions: Tell
Adrian Flux insurance services - discount for forum members.