V71 Recirc Air Flow Flap Removal & Replacement

mjstokes85

Diesel Power
Nov 14, 2005
Long Eaton
Air Flow Flap V71

I’ll start off with the standard disclaimer that you do this at your own risk, I am not a mechanic, I am not an electrician, all work should be carried out by a professional, I am not responsible for you ruining your car or you injuring/killing yourself etc.

After scanning my car the other day this fault threw up, V71 Air Flow Flap – Static No Define. After some internet research I discovered this is the flap that operates when you press the air recirculation button on your climate control or normal AC. Common symptoms that this flap has failed are:

Constant steaming up of the car (if the flap is stuck in recirc mode).

Not working when you put the car in reverse (you will know if it’s working, it sounds like a plane taking off).

If you don’t have VCDS or a fault scanner then fear not. Hold the recirc button and econ button with the car OFF, then turn the IGNITION ON, your car will run a flap test and show any errors. This flap will be error 4FA. A full list of errors can be found searching on this forum.

After carefully studying ETKA and watching around 25 videos online, mainly of VWs and Skodas and finding none for the 6L Ibiza, I stumbled across an amazing German video that details the whole procedure here:

This video states this is V154, but this is V71, not sure why his error is different (possibly due to LHD?), but it’s the same flap.

I went about looking how I could access this actuator as I was worried it was a dash out job, or at least, glovebox out job. Google searches for V71 reveal a whole myriad of horror stories, but it turns out on the 6L Ibiza you don’t have to remove either.

First off, turn the passenger airbag off with your key, you will be working closely to it, and don’t want to make a tricky job even worse.