What does everybody recommend for tyres?

Nov 7, 2023
I need 2 maybe 4 new tyres pretty soon especially how its a lot more wet at the minute. Also is it worth getting winter tyres? I have never used them before and just normally stick with what I have on. Thanks

SamuelDonuts

Jan 6, 2017
Midlands
Depends what drivetrain you have. I normally swear by Michelin Pilot Sport brand but the factory Goodyears (Eagle F1 SS) have actually been pretty impressive on my 245. Also had PS4’s on a diesel mk3 and they were always excellent. My partners 1.4 150 has Michelin Primacy at my request and they are really good.

SRGTD

May 26, 2014
@CJollands - Where you live in the UK and whether using your car during the colder months is essential or not might influence your decision over whether to go for winter tyres. Also, having the space to store the winter tyres (and a second set of wheels?) when you swap back to ‘summer’ tyres during the warmer months is something you might want to consider.

I live in East Anglia where the winter weather is generally quite mild with only occasional snow. I’m retired so I’m fortunate that I don’t need to use my car if I don’t want to - I generally don’t take my car out these days if it’s icy or there’s snow on the ground - so I’ve never invested in winter tyres. I currently have a set of Michelin PS4 on my car and I‘ve been very pleased with them. If I did need to use my car all year round in all weather conditions and I lived in a part of the UK that experiences more severe winter weather, I’d consider winter tyres, or maybe as a compromise get a set of all season tyres that I could keep on the car all year round.

Alex667

Jan 10, 2023
United Kingdom
In the UK, I've never bothered with a dedicated set of winter tyres, I just make sure the ones I have are A rated in the rain (and reviews back that up). Then again I work from home so if there's snow I don't go out.

KXL

KXL
Dec 15, 2016
London, UK