Winter tyres

JMAC

Feb 18, 2015
I'm thinking of getting a set of winter tyres and in order to save (a) the cost of tyres and (b) saving my 18" alloys, I was looking at getting my hands on some 17" used alloys…

However there's a few websites that offer packages on new alloys with winter tyres already fitted and balanced. I've found packages starting at £620 which isn't too bad considering the wheels will be brand new and the tyres are circa £400 on their own (GY Ultra Grip Performance Gen-1's).

A few questions:

1. Although I've stated 17" would 16" be feasible to fit on a FR? Brake clearance, etc?
2. Do I go for the same tyre dimensions, e.g 225x45 and just change the diameter to suit?
3. Are Winter tyres actually worth it? I've been commuting 25K a year for the last 8 years and never had any issues.
4. Are cheap alloys cheap for a reason? Or are they much of a muchness if they're bought with a warranty from a reputable source? I did look at Ronal wheels but £££'s.

Any advice appreciated :D

Last edited:

JACUPRA280

Jun 18, 2015
Somewhere
I'm thinking of getting a set of winter tyres and in order to save (a) the cost of tyres and (b) saving my 18" alloys, I was looking at getting my hands on some 17" used alloys…

However there's a few websites that offer packages on new alloys with winter tyres already fitted and balanced. I've found packages starting at £620 which isn't too bad considering the wheels will be brand new and the tyres are circa £400 on their own (GY Ultra Grip Performance Gen-1's).

A few questions:

1. Although I've stated 17" would 16" be feasible to fit on a FR? Brake clearance, etc?
2. Do I go for the same tyre dimensions, e.g 225x45 and just change the diameter to suit?
3. Are Winter tyres actually worth it? I've been commuting 25K a year for the last 8 years and never had any issues.