Simply not good enough

nsj

I have just disposed of my 05 Altea after 1 year, because I think SEAT lost the plot with this one.

Apart from the really awful stereo, terrible speakers, bug ridden bluetooth implementation, there are far too many squeeks and rattles. I am a high mileage driver cica 20k pa and compared to my previous Toledo's the Altea does not have the same build quality. Yes, I think they improved the design both inside and out but lost the plot on the engineering. They look to be going the Alfa Romeo way - style over content.

Lem

Can you tell us a little more about your problems?

As it is I'm waiting pen-in-hand to sign on the dotted line for an FR when they finally turn up. I'm aware of the bluetooth issues (these appear to be getting progressively, if slowly solved with firmware updates) and the stereo sounds much like the one in my old Octavia vRS - It'll be going from the dealer straight to the sound shop for an upgrade.

However, my Octy racked up 144k miles of total abuse with no problems what so ever, except for the cam followers and the clutch letting go at 100k.
I was hoping for more of the same with the Seat, especially I plan to treat it somewhat more kindly than I did the Skoda

hibitdat

Leon FR TDI 150 Plat Grey
Sep 30, 2004
Dorset
exactly

My sentiments exactly, as I discussed with my dealer only yesterday when my 54 plate 2.0TDI Sport had its 20k service. Apparently we are not alone in having numerous rattles and other defects.

Mine, although great to drive, is not a patch on the Cordoba before it when it comes to build quality, fit and finish, let alone up to something like an old shape Leon or a Megane (yes, really!)