Audi S3 IHI PE1820 build.

welly.

Badger 5 Edition
Oct 4, 2010
Stroud, Gloucestershire
I have been running a CR Hybrid K04 for several months now in various atges of tune, from the original after fitment power of ~300 BHP on OEM manifold, through to 340 BHP+ on a tubular stainless K04 Manifold with water meth.

I have now decided that, as the hybrid project has come to an end, to remove the hybrid and pursue something a little different.

Bill (Badegrbill) happens to have a Primary Designs IHI suited top mount manifold and a Power Enteprises PE1820 on his shelf doing nothing…. So why not?

Thus, here we are at the start of a new project for my S3.

Power aspirations from this turbo are unknown in top mount fitment in honesty, and thus it should be an interesting exercise.

All of the below is the relevant info lifted from my Audi Sport thread (http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/a3-s3-forum-8l-chassis/116511-next-project-please.html), and is leaving out all of the other blurb. Feel free to browse that thread to get the full picture…

Being an SCN member as well, I thought I would also share this on here!

So here we go:

Popped into Bill's last night to mock up the fitment and get a feel for where everything will need to go - mainly the TIP and oil/coolant lines.

To be fair, it looks like it should fit into the engine bay with some minor modifications, shouldn't be the end of the world.

Oil and coolant lines and going to be flexible braided hose based, rather than hard piping. It's easier to manipulate them and make them run around things. I will most likely pop to a hydraulics company up the road from Bill who did my PAS pipe to get some idea of pricing for the unions required.

The other things that will be a challenge will be the down pipe, however Bill will be sorting that as the final part of the build me thinks, once everything else is in.