Carpet soaking in car?

Jan 29, 2023
Hi everyone, complete novice when it comes to cars, basically i drive 2015 leon, noticed back left footwell carpet was wet, didnt explore it further until today when cleaning the car that the front passenger carpet was wet too, checked the layer underneath and it was completely soaking, but drivers side front and back is fine. Just wondering has anyone had this happen or know where i should start to check? Had a look at the door seals and they’re all ok so don’t think they’re the problem. Any help is appreciated, thanks, steph

Damo H

Remind me, what's an indicator?
Staff member
Oct 3, 2012
Car Length In Front
I'm no expert, but if my understanding is correct, its sometimes causes by drain holes being bunged up with dirt on the doors or sunroof (if you have one).

SRGTD

May 26, 2014
Rear door speaker seals is a fairly common water ingress point on the mk7 Golf, and as the Leon is essentially very similar to the Golf, it might well use the same (poor quality) seals between the speakers and doors. If this is the cause of your problem, then check to see if the design of the floor pan allows water in the rear footwell to ‘travel’ along forwards in the front footwell; if it can, that would explain why the front footwell is also wet.

You can test to see if it’s the speaker seal that’s the cause of the problem - open the rear door and pour water over the outside window. If the exit point of some of that water is between the bottom edge of the door card and the door rather than through the door drainage holes, then it’s likely to be the speaker seal that needs replacing.

Reactions: Damo H
Jul 27, 2021
Can I join this chat - mines a Leon FR 2019 with wet carpet on the front passenger side. The water is coming out from behind the bonnet-release lever. Can anyone give me any idea where that can be coming in?

DEAN0

Old Git
Feb 1, 2006
Preston - UK