High Idle on 1.9 TDI sport when cold

SS247

Hi guys, I'm a newbie here came across this excellent site after trawling google for my little problem.
Basically I have a '06 Ibiza 1.9tdi sport and up until now I have been happy with it. However recently with the cold weather, I have noticed an annoying issue, when starting up from cold, the engine idles very high, between 1500-2500 rpm, which makes driving quite difficult! This doesn't settle down even when warmed up, but if I turn it off and start it again when its warmed up then its fine.

I contacted Seat and they took it and had a look and said its normal! I'm sure this isn't the case , just wondering if anyone else has had this problem??

Any feedback/experiences appreciated,

Many thanks,

S

Topsey

Jan 21, 2007
Can't help as to whether it's normal or not but my 07 1.9TDi Sport is doing exactly the same and has been since the start of the cold snap in December. Very annoying and makes it sound like I'm doing granny revs at the junction!! :D

Be interesting to see other replies.

Mal

I have a 2004 TDI SE (100hp). There seem to be a couple of rather erratic electrical glitches when the temp falls below around 5 degrees.

I haven't had trouble with idling revs but my power steering light warning light comes on sometimes when its cold, leading to a loss of power steering. I reckon this happens maybe 1 in every 15 or 20 start ups in the cold. It is easy to cure like you say, switch the ignition on and off, but it is annoying, especially if it goes dead after you've pulled away and then have to pull over.

Mine is out of warranty and SEAT won't do anything about it, and its not that troublesome.
However, if mine was still under warranty i'd push SEAT hard to fix it. I wish I had done rather than letting them fob me off 2 years ago.