How much to lower suspension and how?

AlexToledoV510v

Hi there.

I bought my toledo 10 months ago. Love it. Ticks every box, except maybe fuel consumption.

Anyway, it currently looks like this:

car1.JPG

I think the photo above shows the car at a ride height that reminds me of a taxi.

I'd like to lower it to look more like this:

car1lowered.jpg

Looking more like a proper sports saloon.

So, given I'm a complete noob, how much would I have to lower it to achieve this effect and should I use those expensive andjustable "coilovers" or fixed springs and shocks?

Thanks for your input,

Alex

Last edited by a moderator:

Seatmann

Rough around the edges
Sep 16, 2010
Scotlanda
:wtf: You on drugs lol. I think maybe 30 - 40 mm would do that, what's the milage like? You have to consider wether it's sagging with age or not and if so by how much. The pic you've got looks about 30-40mm though, a lot of guys fit coilovers so they can adjust it up and down to suit themselves. You could try asking DPM Performance on the home page and see what he says, might get a better answer.:)

AlexToledoV510v

Thanks.

Sorry about the multiple posts above. New users aren't allowed to post pictures until they have posted 15 times so I did them in order to display the above images. There is no way I can see to delete the posts.

With 114k on the clock it feels vague and barge like through the corners so a sharpen up is in order. I figured I may as well lower it seeing so the components would have to be replaced anyway.

Also, is it possible to get a shallower sump? Otherwise I don't think I can lower it at all.

Muttley

Catch that diesel!
Mar 17, 2006
North Kent
Given the mileage, replacement of the suspension bushes should sharpen up the handling a great deal. OEM replacement, or stiffer aftermarket ones.