Limp mode - Pressure issue

shazzydoosh

Hi all.

Im a total newbie on this site, but have posted this question on other forums.

My 1999 (Mk2) Toledo TDI (110) SE has occasionally gone into Limp mode when flooring it up hills etc. Usual engine off / on fixes it. I had someone look at with Vagcom and it was a pressure related fault - but the part number was for a pressure sensor, and the mechanic said it didn't realy tell us much.

I want to go down eliminating the obvious first. I have seen a lot of people (mainly with petrol engines) replacing the N75 valve, and in some cases fitting the N75J from the Audi A2. Apparently this holds boost smoother and slightly higher than Seat stock fitted ones.

I have one of these N75J valves from Vagparts - but can it be fitted to replace my standard one on a TDI. It does the same thing in essence, but it does look quite different - even if I get around connecting the hose's - im not sure if it is designed for a TDI and if it will Kill my turbo etc.

Can someone tell me if It can be fitted, and anyone ever done it? I dont care if I get no gains, but it will eliminate my existing N75 or Pin point it as the fault if it works.

cheers

Daz

shazzydoosh

I can't remember the exact code now, and the mechanic has cleared it. But it said something relating to the pressure, and he checked his book and the part code was for a sensor he said, and that it didn't point to where the problem was.

As it is intermittent, and tends to happen if i've been doing a lot of city miles, then move to motorways etc, i thought maybe the VNT vanes were sticking - but would this be a pressure fault in VagCom????

So this N75 J is totally incompattible (it has the same conectors, just arranged differently - i guess i was hoping for too much) :confused:?