MK2 Leon Cupra Buying advice

jackbarraclough5196

May 23, 2019
Lancashire
Hi guys

Can’t seem to find any solid info, so any help would be much appreciated.

I’m looking at buying the above, I have limited knowledge on the engine and associated faults/problems. I’m looking at a relatively high mileage example on my budget (80,000-100,000m) so any tips on related issues at this kind of mileage? Also what to make sure has been replaced by this stage.

I’ve had a diesel pre facelift for some years now with 180k on the clock, appreciate it’s a totally different situation but I feel like they’re a solid car when looked after.

If anybody could give some conservative modification guidance too, I’m not looking to ring its neck, just bring it alive with some tasteful additions (or removals), without any MOT issues, again I’m not clued up on how many cats this thing has and how many can be removed etc for example. And of course what NOT to do!

TIA chaps!
Jack

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

300bhpdaily

May 26, 2020
Engine wise I’d check when the cam belt is due and the chain and tensioner was last done.
Check for oil leaks from the rocker cover gasket and vacuum pump
When was the cam follower last done
Does it have a decent service record
Check the discs and pads and tyres when they were done last.
Does the car have all the keys
Do the door locks work off the keyfob on EVERY door?
Also check the oil level if it’s on min it might be burning a tiny bit of oil some do and some don’t.
check when the brake fluid was last changed.
Also does the steering feel direct or sloppy does it granch when going lock to lock if so it needs top mounts
Have any of the shocks been changed since it was new? If not then check them for oil misting
Put the hand brake on and put it in 1st and slowly go up with the clutch to biting point with someone watching the engine if it rocks back or forward it will need engine and gearbox mounts.