New LCR owner advice!

sick2death

Dec 3, 2009
SY11
Hi Guys.

I have been browsing the forums for a couple of months now, having recently bought my first LCR. So far quite pleased with the car, although the excess pollution light has just come on. Have noticed recently a dip in power in low revs for a split second. Booked into the dealer so see what they come up with.

Anyway, as it is the car is completley standard, but i needed a bit of advice regarding a remap. I was thinking of getting it remapped in January, as I could afford this, although I will want to make further mods as and when I can afford them (exhaust etc).

Should I wait to get it remapped once other mods are finished? I am a bit impatient to get a bit more poke out of it.

Any suggestions?

h7 cya

Jun 3, 2009
hey buddy glad ur enjoying the r so far. well to be honest if u want just a quick and easy power increase then a remap will be fine for the time being. Although if you are looking too upgrade other components too it might be better to wait and get a custom map that works best with your mods. you could get a map for now and then get it mapped again after but obviously there will be extra dollar involved. good luck matey.

Ruddmeister

Everything in Moderation
Jun 23, 2003
Weston-super-Mare
en.wikipedia.org
Get a remap done, replace the dump valve for a metal rather than plastic unit and possibly an air intake and leave the mods at that.......you will enjoy the extra torque :yes:

Or go the whole hogg and get a bigger turbo and spend £3.5K plus on the engine.

Nothing in between i.e, replacement exhaust as you suggest

Phase 1 remap = 265bhp

Phase 2 remap about 5-10bhp more and you can't tell the difference on the road

Cost of a phase 2 remap and associated bits for phase 2 is about £1.5k (Map, DP, Exhaust, Intake, FPR, Uprated Intercooler perhaps etc) which for 5-10bhp ain't worth the return IMO.

Anyone that says they are doing custom mapping on phase remap 1 is telling porkies