Scary SXE Toledo problem

snoopdogg

Hi everybody,im a newbie here and this is my firs post so i was wondering if anybody out there could help me...i drive a 98 Toledo 2.0 SXE the car has no problem in starting and runs and drives well..normaly..but all of a sudden for no reason it will start to die while your driving normaly while im going about 60mph the engine will cut out all the lights will come on the instrument panel, then i have to coach it to the side of the road turn off the ignition then back on and restart the car, the car starts as if nothing has happened and then i drive off agen.It will also sometimes die on while driving not cut out but loose revs then if i drop it down a gear it will pick up agen then carry on,this is very scary as iv nearly had a few cars smash into my rear when this has happend,also you can be driving normaly at 60-70mph slow down for a roundabout or junction and asoon as i press the clutch it will cut out,then as before i turn it off then back on agen it starts fine and i drive away.Can anybody help me with this please?

m0rk

sarcasm comes free
Staff member
May 19, 2001
Clanfield, UK
what state are the vacuum pipes that go into the inlet manifold?

Also - worth checking how old your plugs are etc

snoopdogg

thanks for the reply mate...as for the plugs there fairly new but i was thinking of changeing them as for te vaccum pipes i'll have to check its got full service history cos it's been in the family since it was 1yr old, it's done 100k and when it is running ok it runs lovely not a blip on the revs at all.

P.s Do you know which make of spark plug Seat use..i was just wondering because i had a Mondeo V-tec and some of them had problems unless they didnt use genuine plugs....so i've been told.She's got Champion in her at the moment, also d you think it's computer might be causing the problem or the imobiliser?

Last edited by a moderator:

Kris

ESTATE! I'm Getting Old!
Nov 21, 2003
North Essex
Visit site