Airbox Smoothing Guide now with pictures

EmDee

Omnishambolic
what about water getting into your airfilter and causing MAF problems? i am considering putting in a cold air feed but need to play it safe too

The feed is snaked around my SMIC and the shape won't let much/any water through. Even if it does make it all the way up the 1m long feed, it would just drip out of the end and probably not get blown into the filter. I've been running it for the last 6 months in all sorts of weather and no problems so far *knocks on wood*.

will-225

Just wondering for those who have drilled holes in their airbox, how many have you put in?
I've put about 30 10mm in mine but wondering if to go for more?

will-225

Well it's really easy to do & I can already hear the dv more (if thats your thing)

Feb 20, 2010
ipswich
I had these made but never used them

02112008041.jpg

but instead bought a induction kit

21112008122.jpg

what induction kit is that

s_purs

Ok I am a bit behind the times here- mainly because I only joined the site recently- but I have a couple of questions.

Drilling the bottom of the airbox is quick and seems good if you want more sound. Some people were worried about dust going in, which is the whole point of the filter in the first place? So surely if you have these holes then it will let dust and stuff in, which wouldnt be good for your engine?

But then why not just put some mesh/old filter onto the bottom of the box over the holes? That would filter the air and make it cleaner, and possibly help with heat soak a bit? But then you still have the benifit of a bit louder sound? Or am I completely missing something here, as this hasnt been mentioned before?

Ovni_cupraR

Yellow Peril
Oct 25, 2008
Maidstone, Kent