1.9TDi Stylance cambelt change

altea phil

Jan 25, 2009
West Yorks.
Just in the process of buying one of the above, so haven't got the owners manual (or car !!) yet, so I was wondering what the service interval is for the cambelt.
Is it 4 years or 40k miles, and how difficult are they to change ??

POB

Going nowhere slowly...
Feb 12, 2008
Newtownards, County Down
60k or 4 years whichever is sooner - obviuos in your case!! Buy the cam belt kit from seremotors (look him up on SCN) he is a seat franchised dealer and offers fantastic discount on genuine seat parts - you will not get a better deal trust me. When you have bought it from him get your local mechanic to fit for approx £100.00
I'm in the process of doing the same!
Good luck
POB

altea phil

Jan 25, 2009
West Yorks.
POB,
Thanks for the reply....I used to be a mechanic, in my dim-and-distant past, and although I still do a lot of routine servicing for friends, as a rule I don't touch timing belts.
However, as I am a tight git :D:D, I did change the one on my Octavia VRS a couple of years ago (you should have seen me sweating when it came to firing it up). So I was wondering how much of a job it is do myself, and whether I have to rigidly stick to 4 years. The car has only done 33k, so will it last another year or two, or are they prone to snapping ??

hanxslf

Altea 2.0 TDI Sport DSG 2005

Mine is going into a seat dealers (Penmans Darlington) for cambelt replacement, 4 yrs up not miles 37K. I'm also having the water pump changed, As some posts on this forum suggest these can fail around 60k or 40K at worst. So while it's in bits it's getting changed, for my peace of mind. I have only had car 6 months and will be keeping it for some time.

the price for all this work I have been quoted £329.69 all in

hope this helps you out

POB

Going nowhere slowly...
Feb 12, 2008
Newtownards, County Down