Brake light switch repair

xxxmike

Jul 11, 2016
Well what a silly little design this is!

Heads up to anyone with a Mk5 1.4 16V sport that the normal brake light switch thats a plunger type one on the pedal does not work wityh these cars.
They use a silly design where its mounted on the brake master cylinder.
The kit is here - http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/GENUINE-S...h=item4af716549b:g:XX0AAOSwKtlWk43N#vi-ilComp

and the part number is 5G0698459

£25 inc vat from the SEAT dealer if you want one. Euro car parts and all other sites if you use the reg they send you the wrong part.
Even the dealer struggled to find this info for me.

Has anyone fitted one of these yet. I am ordering mine today to fix my stuck on brake lights, its in a tricky place and held on with a torx bit from what i can see so far. Is it just a case of unclip the wire block and remove then refit the new bit?

RUM4MO

Jun 4, 2008
South Scotland
I should not be replying as I have no experience of this - yet, but as I am curious about how you get on replacing that assembly, from what I've read is, VW group have revised that "bunch of bits" and you need to replace the lot to sort it properly, and it sounds like you do just remove the first lump, then extract what is left - though maybe I have been reading too much into what has been written on this subject.

I'd be very wary about buying via ebay as this kit has been subject to revision it has been said, I'd be buying via your local SEAT/VW/Skoda dealership as they will only hold the latest version, all older stuff will be sold on by etraders on ebay!

Edit:- of course if that etrader is a Skoda dealership, ie Rainworth Skoda, then it will be okay.

Last edited:

xxxmike

Jul 11, 2016