changing a clutch

Ieuan-J

Jan 8, 2010
South Wales
How difficult is it to change a clutch?
Mine has gone and wanted to know what is involved in doing it?
What do i need to remove to get to it and is investing in a haynes manual worth a go?

Im not a proffesional or anything and im quite mechanically minded, and i do potter about with my car and really cant be doing with forking out for labour on changing the clutch because of what ive spent on getting the head sorted [:@]

Cheers, Ieuan :)

m0rk

sarcasm comes free
Staff member
May 19, 2001
Clanfield, UK
Piece of piss to change the clutch on the 1.4

It was the first 'big' job I'd done, and only required a comprehensive, but basic toolset.

Haynes manual was surprisingly accurate with the only tools I needed to buy was the 17mm hex for the gearbox drain & the clutch alignment tool... maybe the spline drive for your driveshaft bolts too.

Basically you get the car as high as you can on axle stands & follow the instructions.

I think I bought a Unipart clutch on ebay for about £30, spent about the same on new tools & probably £20 on new gearbox fluid.

While I was there I cleaned up the clutch mechanism inside the bellhousing & it made the clutch much lighter.

Probably about six hours 'work' for a first timer - but massively satisfying.

Reactions: Madda

HoopDub

Aug 17, 2009
what was wrong with your head? what engine do you have? it is real easy, much easier on a ramp though and if you have access to air tools

m0rk

sarcasm comes free
Staff member
May 19, 2001
Clanfield, UK
OP = original poster

you have an AEX because you listed your car as a 1.4, and it has facelift bumpers (so is a 97-00 model)

Ieuan-J

Jan 8, 2010
South Wales
Aaaah :) my car is a 97 (P)

thats good to know now... i didnt know what the facelift ment but now i do... ive been wondering why every other mk2 i see isnt as nice as mine... :D

Finan

i went jap.. :O
Jan 18, 2009
Eíre
bebo.com