considering supercopa

TrevS

Hi there

I have been looking into buying a race car and have decided that a seat cupra championship car offers great value for money. However I am on a shoestring budget and realistically I don't think I could afford to run the car in the cupra championship. Therefore could anyone tell me what other championships/races these cars are eligble for?

Also I have no previous experience with these cars so what are they like to live with, are they fairly easy to work on,setup and run etc? Also are these the sort of race cars that require little man power in the pitlane to prepare etc. So could one man and his dog turn up and run the car or would they require a dedicated team of engineers etc.

As I said I have no experience at running this type of car so any help, advice and rough ideas of prices for running costs both generally and during a typical race weekend would be very welcome.

Many thanks

Trevor

CupraSport

Mar 8, 2004
Bolton
Visit site
Ok, I was at Oulton this weekend and if you are considering buying one the chassis number needs to be higher than 100. I was speaking to one of the supercopas spanner men and apparently they changed the weld points etc to bring them in line with the spanish series and the WTCC.. Thus making the cars stiffer and handle better round a track.

TrevS

So what do you guys think, is this the sort of car someone with little experience could drive/run fairly easily? Also I think if I buy one Ill spend a good chunk of time testing and practicing in the car to get used to it before entering any race series.

Jul 17, 2004
West Lothian
There are Supercopas in many UK saloon car series. The LMA Saloons, Scottish Saloon and Sportscars, the Northern Sports and Saloons to name a few. They have a lot of toys on them like launch control and the dsg paddle shift gearbox, plus the aerodynamic aids, so would that make driving easier for a newcomer? m0rk's driven one, let him tell you all about it. ;)