iPod - Track Names Displayed On Radio?

NDF1982

Hi all,

After searching the form for an answer, I couldn't seem to find one!

So, has anyone had any success with getting the track names from their iPod displayed on the radio's display? Is it impossible?

I cannot understand why it would be impossible to do this, it seems relatively straight forward, but I'm no expert at things like this, so hopefully some of the more skilled members of the forum in this area have found a solution!

Thanks for your help!

Nick

ZBOYD

Looking up at the stars!
May 19, 2001
Cheshire
www.seatcupra.net
Not possible as far as I am aware with the iPod kit. I think if you have the correct ID tag info on an MP3 when using the headunit and MP3 CD then it should display track names. But the iPod lead doesn't support it as far as I am aware.

NDF1982

Thanks for your reply mate.

I read on a post when doing the search earlier that you could get track names displayed using an MP3 CD, which is good, but I find it quite odd that you cannot get them displayed with the iPod connection.

I'm assuming that it's the type of connection, that's causing the problem? Like the socket that the lead connects to at the back of head unit cannot interpret the info sent from iPod?

robjw

There is supposed to be a special VW CAN-BUS version of the new Dension gateway which will interface with the MFD directly. I bit like the way the bluetooth kit shows names/numbers.

ZBOYD

Looking up at the stars!
May 19, 2001
Cheshire
www.seatcupra.net
Thanks for your reply mate.

I read on a post when doing the search earlier that you could get track names displayed using an MP3 CD, which is good, but I find it quite odd that you cannot get them displayed with the iPod connection.

I'm assuming that it's the type of connection, that's causing the problem? Like the socket that the lead connects to at the back of head unit cannot interpret the info sent from iPod?