LCR AMK starts on 3 cylinders for 10secs then fires all 4 and runs fine on boost??

Mark27LCR

Oct 22, 2012
Birmingham
Hi all,

i am new to this and i could do with some help :rolleyes:, i did abit of research on LCR's before buying and then i recently (3 months ago) bought a Leon Cupra R 03 AMK, i'll write a little bit of history first so the current problem will be near the bottom of this post .i've had a few problems already some of which have been covered by warranty as follows;

September,

Timing belt tensioner making wierd noise's and seemed to be losing about a litre of water a week so had Cambelt & waterpump with metal impellor and tensioner changed, (warranty didn't cover this as the initial problem reported was the tensioner which wasn't listed as covered)

October,

Water leak had gotten worse half a litre a day :scary: and by now it had developed a misfire on startup, for a short amount of time then fires on all four and has no problem with boost etc, also by this point exhaust downpipe flex had blown wide open

i Had my friend at the garage check for water leaks and do a service at the same time to try and solve the misfire
there were no fault codes about a misfire but worse still water on the plug and water in the oil so he suspected head gasket so did some sort of compression test and confirmed it.
I got the warranty to agree to change it after they'd sent an inspector out etc that was okay'd so he went ahead, i also ordered a 2nd hand downpipe and had them fit that while the head was off..
I'd also bought a 3" TIP BMC Filter and Heatshield kit and Forge 008 from Bill at Badger5 which looks the biz, had this all put on and the same time,

The whole process meant i was without the car for 3 weeks, because of it being warranty waiting for downpipe waiting for inspector then for the garage to fit it back in as they were "busy" i wern't happy with my mate at this point.

So anyway

November