Replacing Lower Suspension Arm

OFI

Sep 5, 2007
Salisbury
Just got a call to say my car has failed its MOT for a number of things including a knackered Front Lower suspension arm.

The quote to do the work being far more than I can afford right now just how hard of a job is it to replace one?

I'm looking at the Haynes (for the Golf) right now and it gives it a 3 Spanner rating but it looks fairly straight forward but I am a novice :( (although it also puts changing disks and pads at 3 spanners too..)

Was hoping to get new EBC Disks and Ferrodo pads end of the month at payday but it failed on the front pads too so it looks like i'll have to settle for cheap ones now :cry:

The Haynes suggests the job is a case of jacking the car up and undoing a few nuts and bolts. Is this really the case or am I going to find myself halfway through the job missing a vital special tool!

I do have a complete set of spanners and sockets and allen keys etc..

Ta :whistle:

Last edited:

Willie

LCR Track car
Aug 6, 2004
Sunny Scotland
What exactly is worn?
The Ball joint or the swing arm (wish bone)?
If it's the ball joint it can be a PITA, you need a ball joint splitter.
If it's the swing arm (which I doubt) its a very easy swap.

Remember that an MOT retest if you take the car away and do it yourself can be the full price (£53ish) so this needs to be added to the price of fixing it yourself.

DannyC87

Rubbing is Racing :-)
Mar 4, 2008
Out of interest Willie, what is the need for a ball-joint splitter? I have just put new ball joints and track rod ends on and didn't need one? Which part of the job would this have made easier; because it was all a bit of a ball ache - mainly due to rusted on parts shearing!

OFI

Sep 5, 2007
Salisbury
Had a word with the mechanic and he said it was the ball joint on the wishbone and it would be better to replace the whole wishbone.