Struggling with auto wipers?

Griff

Nov 30, 2015
Telford, UK
Hi guys.

Noob here in terms of Seat, also in terms of any car with gadgets of any sort lol

I was lead to believe when I bought the car that the auto wipers only activate when I have the lights set to auto, is that true?

Basically what I want to know is, can you actually turn the auto wipers off and use them manually?
Must admit I'm not a fan of the auto's, they never seem to be able to adjust the speed correctly, either it's pissing it down and they're going really slow and I can't see, or it's just barely spitting and they're going crazy!

The speed adjuster thing on top of the wiper stalk seemingly makes no difference... Is there a fault with me auto wipers or are they just generally crap?

Please help guys! :(

Thanks! Griff.

Ckpearce91

Feb 20, 2013
Milton Keynes
Well one click up on the wiper stalk is set to auto. Go up again and then you're in manual mode and you should be able to click it up again to intensify the speed as any other car.

Griff

Nov 30, 2015
Telford, UK
Ahh I see! So up 2 clicks to set it to manual, then I assume the speed adjuster on the stalk might actually do something? Lol

Ckpearce91

Feb 20, 2013
Milton Keynes
Most probably. When I had auto wipers I never used manual. I loved them. But some leon owners have had the same issue as you, so you're not alone

andrewpain

Jul 5, 2014
Meppershall Beds.
stalk adjuster is for the "sensitivity" of the auto function. They take a bit of fiddling with and don't activate if you're sitting still, as they don't think they need to work when stationary.
A pain when you want to pull away in the rain! Mine often don't activate till I'm at the bottom of my drive, so they get a flick into manual by a quick press DOWN.

DEAN0

Old Git
Feb 1, 2006
Preston - UK
They could be switched off in the head unit menu.

First thing I did after I got mine - hate auto wipers with a vengeance.