Tarox 10 pot calipers and 330mm discs or Hi spec 6 pot calipers and 360mm discs.

Aug 1, 2005
Cullompton . Devon
My Audi is off having the first stage of some engine work done at the moment to boost the power a bit. The standard brake setup will not be strong enough and so will up grading. I have been looking around and basically its come down to a Hi Spec 6 pot 360mm or Tarox 10 pot 330mm conversion and before anyone posts it i know both sets are quite extreme and over the top but thats me. I was just wandering if anyone had anything good or bad to say about either kit. Also from a technical point of view which brake design should stop better, six pot calipers with 360mm disc's or ten pot calipers with 330mm disc's if made by the same company using the same pads ?

Ruddmeister

Everything in Moderation
Jun 23, 2003
Weston-super-Mare
en.wikipedia.org
bentaw said:
surely the 10 pot calipers would stop you more due to more contact with pad and disc

I'm no expert but would guess they would run hotter as a consequence, therefore for on track use ducting maybe a good idea.

Devonmikeyboy - would also recommend some of Bill (Badger5) Carbon Metallic pads f you can live with the dust, great improvement to the std set up on an LCR (better feel and sharper braking)

Last edited:

ibizacupra

Jack-RIP my little Friend
Jul 25, 2001
glos.uk
let the abs sort it out i guess.

10 pots on 330mm disks does seem OTT..
6 pots on the 360mm does seem more usual.

not a fan of tarox from personal bad experience. (disks n pads)
What options do you have on pads with tarox calipers? Tarox only?

Aug 1, 2005
Cullompton . Devon
" Each kit contains 2 ten pistons brake calipers, 2 brake discs including alloy bells, 2 adaptor clamps, 1 set of brake pads and 1 set of brake lines”