Argh!! Nightmare - Power problems, engine management light

M14KCY

New
Jan 26, 2009
Scotland
Couldn't have happened at a worst time! Going on holiday on monday [:@]

Anyway, not a mechanic so sorry for not having a clue here.

Leon 1.8t 20v (04)

:help:

Was driving along and drove round a round about, as i was exiting my car started juddering a little and had lose of power when trying to pull away. I initially thought could be a puncture but all was ok.......

Switched the car off, started it up again and it just didn't sound right on start. Tried to pull off and it was juddering/puttering along and had massive lose of power, the engine management light came on and when i found a safe spot to pull over i got out to an eggy smell coming off the car....

Does anyone know what the problem could be here and is it an expensive one....like i say i'm sorry for being dumb here but im not a mechanic in anyway. Knowing me it'll be something obv and i'll look daft here :doh:

Cheers Mikey

M14KCY

New
Jan 26, 2009
Scotland
Sticky??? Dont know what you mean

I did think it was something to do with sparks or something. I had aproblem with my coil pack a few years ago in my corsa and remember now it was similar to the same problem..

Not that dear is it?

truCido

Race Lupo in progress...
Dec 11, 2003
Bristol
www.vagowners.co.uk
Sticky??? Dont know what you mean

I did think it was something to do with sparks or something. I had aproblem with my coil pack a few years ago in my corsa and remember now it was similar to the same problem..

Not that dear is it?

I'm sure its a bit different to the coil on a corsa....basically instead of ht leads you have "coil packs" / "coil pencils" whatever you want to call them, so you have 1 for each cylinder. There cheap and simply unplug, pull out and push in, plug back in

chaz44

Feb 21, 2009
hull