DAB 100bhp tdi engine cover

paulhdi

Feb 3, 2007
:confused:Hi guys,

I popped the bonnet of my sister's car today to top up the oil, and noticed that there is no engine cover. I can see a lip around the oil filler cap which looks like something could rest on it.

It's my first time looking at this engine bay, and so would be grateful if anyone could shed any light on wether a cover is fitted on the 100bhp engine or not, before i go visit the dealer.

many thanks

Paul

Mark Solesbury

Only the Ibiza FR and the Leon have them i think....

It looks a bit monkey without it, but i think its about 100 from a dealer!

paulhdi

Feb 3, 2007
jesus, thats a fair amount for one. Struck me as very odd when i had a looky this morning. I'd have thought they'd have stuck one on.

oh well.

thanks Mark

Mark Solesbury

They do look a lot better with a cover on - especially as the mountings are there etc...

All down to cost i suppose in the end...

vp1701

paulhdi - not all DAB's came with an engine cover. some people got engine covers are others didn't. sounds like your sisters is one of those that came without an engine cover. out of interest what year is the car? did it come with 4 or 6 speakers? does it have a storage draw under the drivers seat? does it have the old 16" FR wheels? do you have steroe controls on steering wheel? just some of the many variations in the trim spec for DAB cars.

paulhdi

Feb 3, 2007
vp1701,

it's an 07 car. and it has all the bits you listed.

Just looks a bit unfinished without the engine cover. Wish i'd spotted in when she was buying it, i'd have asked for one as part of the deal.

vp1701