DIY Timing (cam) Belt Change Cupra TDI

dirk1978

Mar 25, 2009
Hello everyone.

My Cupra TDI has done 58k so it's time for the timing belt to be changed. I've got hold of a new timing belt + roller/tensioner etc. so I'm looking to do the job fairly soon.

Has anyone done their own belt change on the PD?

I've done a few timing belt changes myself before (various Vauxhalls, Passat 1.8T) so I'm OK at doing this kind of thing. Just not sure on the difficulty as there are some alarmist people out there who think that just touching your engine will cause it to fall apart.

I've never used a belt change locking kit before, just always lined marks up and away you go. The PD guides always seem to reference cam and crank locking tools. Do you really need them? Is the space really limited due to it being transversely mounted?

Cheers!

cheshire cat

Dec 28, 2002
cheshire
Visit site
Hello everyone.

My Cupra TDI has done 58k so it's time for the timing belt to be changed. I've got hold of a new timing belt + roller/tensioner etc. so I'm looking to do the job fairly soon.

Has anyone done their own belt change on the PD?

I've done a few timing belt changes myself before (various Vauxhalls, Passat 1.8T) so I'm OK at doing this kind of thing. Just not sure on the difficulty as there are some alarmist people out there who think that just touching your engine will cause it to fall apart.

I've never used a belt change locking kit before, just always lined marks up and away you go. The PD guides always seem to reference cam and crank locking tools. Do you really need them? Is the space really limited due to it being transversely mounted?

Cheers!