Leon FR tdi first service

jaykicksass

2011 SEAT Leon SE 1.2 tsi
Jun 11, 2009
devon
Hi, I am a fully qualified mechanic and don't really want to pay £120 or what ever the price is for my first service. Is it possible to get the genuine oil and filter and stuff and do it myself and get the service book stamped by a main dealer to cover my warrenty?
If anyone can help please let me know?

Thanks
Jamie

IanG

Aug 23, 2007
I think you need to have the service carried out by a VAT registered Mechanic/independent garage using genuine parts etc to keep your warranty intact

Mar 30, 2008
Edinburgh
£120 for a service isn't actually that bad. mine was £145. Some independent VAT reg'd garages using genuine parts can be quite cheap. Just fish around for some prices.

jaykicksass

Jun 11, 2009
devon
Well i work for a VAT reg garage so if i get genuine parts that will still cover my warrenty? or has it gotta be a seat independant garage?

FAZ

Feb 6, 2002
Rossendale
Visit site
Off the AA website:

The European regulations governing the sale and after-sales servicing of new cars changed in October 2003. For new cars purchased after that date you are no longer obliged during the warranty period to get the car serviced by a franchise dealer.

You must however continue to get the car serviced according to the manufacturer's recommended schedule and criteria using only manufacturer approved parts.

The legislation only applies to the part of the warranty offered by the manufacturer, i.e. insurance-backed extended warranties offered by dealers are not covered.

If you do have the car serviced outside the dealer network it is essential that it's done to the maker's recommended schedule and criteria using approved parts. You must also keep records to enable you to demonstrate to the manufacturer that servicing was undertaken to their requirements.

Warranty work should still be undertaken by the franchised dealer as it is easier for them to deal directly with the manufacturer.