Looking for advice to upgrade me car..

Stiglet

Feb 12, 2010
Surrey
I am not in a very well paid job since my redundancy. I have been saving for 4 years lol to try and get my next car. I have a 1.4 Seat sport and looking to upgrade to either :

1.9 Sportrider
1.9 FR
DAB special edition thingy(whatever thet is lol )

I dont have much money for running costs and wondered which would be the best for me. Insurance is not a problem since im 42 :cry: i am tempted for the FR but wondering if i am biting off too much buying that. It does look and sound a nice car. All the cars i am looking at are diesals...oh and i have around £8000, pending what they give me for part exchange for my 1.4 sport.

Please advice....:confused:

Mattwood

Mar 7, 2009
Nr Southampton
I have an 04 plate FR TDI and all I shall say is BUY ONE! They're truly awesome! I've had mine a year now, and I'm still not bored of it, and I am still on the standard power (about to have it remapped though :D) tax is £120 a year, average 50-55mpg, insurance is cheap for me (20 with 3 years NCB) I would get another one, no doubt about that!

Stiglet

Feb 12, 2010
Surrey
many thanks for you advice. wots this PD thing you guys are talking about ? is it just the name of the 130 engine ? or a special edition FR like some of the scoobys ? i thinking FR aswell now. it is cheaper on tax and more miles to the galleon than my sport. I suppose you dont use that many tyres. what about servicing ? is that roughy the same ?

next where the hell do i find a decent FR for 8 grand ? :confused:

great_kahn

Spooge
Nov 19, 2009
Leicestershire
PD stands for pump duse, its the name VW give there injector system on there tdi engines.

Here is facts and figures for the various ibiza models and engines etc.

http://www.parkers.co.uk/cars/specs/Summary.aspx?model=797

FR came with a pd130 engine, cupra came with the pd150 (Running 160bhp)