Options Needed

LFC4LIFE

Hey all,

I'm pretty sure that my piston ring has gone.

The reason for my thinking is that it is burning pure oil at an amazing rate. The amount of white smoke that comes out of the exhaust is simply insane. Also there is a slight misfire if you blip the throttle.

The only other thing I think it could be is something to do with turbo.

I have yet to take it to a garage as in its current state it is undriveble so I will have to get the garage to pick the car up, plus I currently don't have the money it will cost to fix it yet.

If it is the piston ring I guess it would depend on how much damage it has actually done.

What I'm after is really info on things like how much damaged could of been caused, costs, options on what to do?
If it is the turbo how much would this cost, should I stick to the standard turbo or go with something else?

Just to let everyone know, I have no mechanical knowledge at all, everything I've been told so far is by mechanics watching a video of my car.

Oh yeah, my car is a 2003 1.8T Curpa with 80,000 miles on the clock

ChrisGTL

'Awesome' LCR225
Nov 17, 2007
Huddersfield
You say white smoke?

Not a blue/grey smoke?

Best way to check rings and valves is by finding a steep hill. But you already have said driving is not possible? Is this because of the amount of smoke.

I always thought a piston ring would cause a blue or grey smoke out of exhaust?

Have a look in your coolant header tank.......how does the coolant look?

LFC4LIFE

The amount of smoke its producing makes it impossible to drive the car, also it stinks of buring oil. It honestly smells like its on fire.

The smoke is white, no black/grey/blue smoke.

Like I said before, I have next to no mechanical knowledge.

You mentioned "Best way to check rings and valves is by finding a steep hill" how would this work?

Also you mentioned "Have a look in your coolant header tank.......how does the coolant look" where is the coolant header tank?

Willie