Possibly blown turbo 1.8 ARY/AJQ - Advise needed

mBruksaas

Apr 6, 2016
Narvik, Norway
Hi, I recently joined this forum so I'm not a 100% sure if this exact question has been answered before, I could atleast not find it by googling around.

A couple of months ago I bought myself a Leon 1M which had been through some upgrades by some tuning garage in Sweden (Dahlback Racing).
What the previous owner told me had been done to the car was a bigger turbo, BOV, cone air filter, FMIC, new intake manifold (with possibly higher capacity injectors, they don't look OEM) and a new map (which only lets the car run on 98 gasoline and not 95/98 as is stock).
The boost gauge inside the car is showing 1.8 bar (~26PSI) at max boost, which I think sounds like a lot judging by what I've read about increasing boost on the 1.8/ARY engines, but I'm no mechanic so what do I know? The previous owner claimed that these mods would give the car around 300HP. The engine in the car is a 1.8T 20V ARY/AJQ.

During the months I've had it I've had some "boost-hesitation" from time to another when putting it into third and giving it full throttle, almost as if it would suddenly lose power when creeping up to 1.8 bar and then either jump back up on the boost or sometimes even go into limp mode. So I bought one of those eBay VAGCOM USB-cables and read the codes off of the car using VCDS-lite the first time it went into limp. It then said something about over-boost from a sensor of some description (sadly I didn't take a picture of the code at the time), but I suspected that this might have been from a frozen sensor or valve because I'd driven it too hard before it got warm (been down to -20 in the mornings here in Norway), so I deleted the code to see if it would come back. It never did, so I assumed the problem was indeed that I had not let the motor get warm enough before boosting, but the boost-cut was still there from time to another.