What to look for when buying an Arosa Sport?

Emz

Nov 24, 2008
Swindon
Hi all,

I've been to look at a Seat Arosa 1.4 16v Sport which i'm very interested in. It's a 2003 plate with 63k miles on the clock. It's up for sale for 3,250..

What do I need to look out for?

I've noticed that the engine is slightly loud but I've been told this is common in the sports as it's running on different cams and he also started it up when it was cold?

If I could have some advice that would be great as i'm new to the Seat world. I currently own a Fiat lol.

Thanks,

Emma

mk1arosasport

Hello Emma and welcome to the forum!

Things to look out for are:

The gearbox - they are renound for being weak, make sure you take it for a test drive. If it feels stiff going into gear or the gearbox is noisy then walk away as it could cost you a new gearbox as it will fail.

The pedal box - Some of the pedal boxes are prone to breaking where the clutch pedal mounts to the rest of the pedal box, it was a design error and you will find it difficult to ingauge gears (can be mistaken for the gear box fault) listen out for a creaking when you depress the clutch pedal and move the pedal side to side with your hand. I think seat will replace it under warrenty or recall fault!

As its done 63k make sure its had a cambelt kit fitted as it should have been changed at 60k,if its not been done do it as soon as possible.

There has been a recent recall on a brake servo hose fault so just get them to check that aswell!

I hope i have not put you off the arosa as its a great car!

Good luck

Luke :)

warren_cox

Back from the dead