Brembo (Aston Martin) brake pad change

Legojon

I only wanted a remap
Staff member
Jul 7, 2015
A relatively straight forward one today. But should anyone be stuck doing this I thought I'd throw up some pics and instructions. Firstly if your unsure how to jack up and support the front of the vehicle check this guide here:
https://forums.seatcupra.net/index.php?threads/jacking-the-front-oil-filter-change-guide.446948/

So this is my starting point. One side is jacked up, I used an axle stand even though I'm not technically under the vehicle, the opposite front and rear wheels are chocked. I've removed the road wheel (19" is heavy so I've used my wheel removal tool to make sure I didn't hit my shiny calipers as the wheel dropped). I've left the jack "touching" the jacking point but not supporting it - as a failsafe.
upload_2020-4-10_15-44-39.png

Take a hammer and a 5mm punch and knock one of the pins out. Once it's part way, the spring clip is fairly easy to push in by hand and will relieve the pressure on the pins. So you can slide the rest of the way by hand. Also... make sure to hold on to the spring clip as you knock the pin out anyway otherwise it will spring and hit you in the eye (ask me how I know!?)
upload_2020-4-10_15-46-49.png

Once one pin is out, if the spring hasn't already hit you in the face, it'll fall out when you let it go. As there was no pressure on the other pin, I just slid that out.
upload_2020-4-10_15-49-12.png

I like hammering flat on. But at this point, I turned the caliper round to face me and cracked the top off the master cylinder (to make it easier to push the pistons back)... also a rag in it in case the fill level goes too high when I push the pistons back in.
upload_2020-4-10_15-50-36.png

Next I got a screwdriver in and pushed one of the brake pads all the way back. Be sure to work top, bottom and center and try and keep it even as brembos have two pistons (one bigger than the other I think).
upload_2020-4-10_15-51-53.png