1.4 Diesel - Nearing 100,000 2009 - ECS, GP, Battery drain...

Jan 25, 2019
Hi all,

Apologies if there are similar threads ongoing, I'm a newbie and I can't figure out how to search this forum for thread topics.

My July 09 registered S.I 1.4 Diesel car is playing me up. Various issues as below:

Glow plug flashing
Emission control system light flashing
Battery drainage

Could all be unrelated and separate issues but the battery drainage & glow plug flashing is a recurring issue, but only intermittent occasions when it flashes. Sometimes it just stops.

Also when I turn over the key without starting the engine, there is a emission control system and alternator warning light, but it clears when I start the engine... I'm not sure if this is normal?

When the car drives, she drives with no faults or issues. The issues come from wet/cold/windy starts, when the car has been sat in the drive for more than 3 days. I've had two flat batteries in 3 months.

Luckily when I have had the faults I have not needed the car for my job. However, I deliver training across a vast geographic area, which means 5am-6am starts and 100-250 mile round trips to deliver training to paying customers. If i can't get my car to start, a whole training event for my company would be cancelled, which could cause me some tricky employment issues with my boss! So you can imagine why I'm anxious to be pro-active and prevent issues getting worse.

I've just replaced the battery again, garage reckoned it was a fault with the new battery but i'm not convinced!

Also if it is just the weather, the miles I'm doing (I've done 6,000 miles in 3 months, mostly motorway driving) that's cool, I'll then just have to weigh up whether its worth having the risk of an unreliable car for the job I do!