another mp3 question... via W850i mobile.

no-fear

Candy FR has been born!!!
Jan 24, 2005
Macclesfield
Hi all...

In my haste to get my order in for the Leon mk2, the only options I went for were the 18" and bluetooth, as I don't currently own an MP3 player I didn't consider the ipod and AUX connections.
Anyway, I have ordered a new mobile phone, the Sony Erricson W850i which is an MP3 player (I think it has the same connector as the ipod)
I've searched and can't find the exact (and simple) answer, is there a way to connect the W850i to the Leons audio system?
What connectors do I need and where do they go?
I'm completely new to the mp3 scene... :confused:

Does the mk2 have a multichanger connector that I could connect to without taking the headunit out?

Many Thanx y'all

Last edited:

englishhaggis

If it's a Leon FR you've ordered, the AUX input should be standard.

I too have the 850i and will connect to the AUX input if you get yourself a cable with a 3.5mm headphone-style jack on both ends. You plug one end into the AUX socket and the other into the headphone socket on the hands-free kit which the phone comes with. Works a treat.

You don't get the music info showing up on the head unit though, like you would with the optional iPod connector, but i don't think it matters as long as you set up decent playlists in advance.

Hope that helps!

no-fear

Jan 24, 2005
Macclesfield
Thanks for the reply englishhaggis, very helpful.
It is the FR TDI I've ordered, can I just check, the AUX input is standard and not an option (probably a dumb question I know), and where would this connector be?

Cheers m8

englishhaggis

Yes, the AUX input is standard on the FR. It's on the centre console just behind the central locking/tyre pressure/ESP switches, under a little plastic flap marked 'AUX'.

no-fear

Jan 24, 2005
Macclesfield
Cheers again m8y, and there's loads of 3.5mm male - male jack leads on ebay.

Phones just arrived, just need the car to go with it..... "C'mon Seat"