MK4 in car pc

Speighty

Jul 22, 2009
Leeds
I have bought an in car pc that has been converted to 12 volts.

The problem im having is that i can run the pc fine from the cig lighter but if i use it with an adapter so i can power my screen aswell the pc just restarts, what options do i have to power my lilliput 8" screen.

Speighty

Jul 22, 2009
Leeds
Whats the easiest way to do that, i have no experience wiring anything, may get the auto electricial to do it.

Whats the easiest way to do that, i have no experience wiring anything, may get the auto electricial to do it.

And your hoping to run a stable car pc, have fun! Got lots of experience in this.

Need a few details:

Did the car pc some with cig lighter adapter?
Are you running and USB devices?
Are you plugging both the monitor and pc into some sort of dual cig lighter?

I spent a year researching Car Pc's then took me a year to get a fast booting stable car pc with all the bits and bobs i needed.

Speighty

Jul 22, 2009
Leeds
And your hoping to run a stable car pc, have fun! Got lots of experience in this.

Need a few details:

Did the car pc some with cig lighter adapter?
Are you running and USB devices?
Are you plugging both the monitor and pc into some sort of dual cig lighter?

I spent a year researching Car Pc's then took me a year to get a fast booting stable car pc with all the bits and bobs i needed.

The car pc has been converted to run on cig lighter.

I bought an 3 cig lighter adapter.

Just a gps usb device.

I tried plugging both in but there is not enough power, pc runs fine when plugged in on its own but dont have another power source for monitor.

Speighty

Jul 22, 2009
Leeds
sounds like either your draining too much power through one source or your causing a bad ground. You got anymore info on the car pc or pics?

Its a fujitsu siemens pc with a 1.8ghz cpu, 1gb ram and 20gb hard drive.

It has wifi built in and has vga and usb lead for the 8" monitor.

Speighty

Jul 22, 2009
Leeds