Urgent Help! - Removing Engine Cover

fyfe9

Lurker
Jan 30, 2007
Aberdeen
Guys I'm trying to install a Pipercross panel and can't get the enginer cover off. I've searched the forums but nothing specific to my problem.

I've unclipped everything except this clip: http://s895.photobucket.com/albums/ac153/fyfe9/?action=view&current=09122009043.jpg

http://i895.photobucket.com/albums/ac153/fyfe9/09122009044.jpg

It's just not moving, it looks like i have to push the two parts together to loosen it but really not shifting. Am I doing something wrong? Am I meant to move the ribbed pipe from the air intake box before moving the clip?

Photo quality pish I know, if anyone can answer ASAP I'd like to get this done tonight.

Cheers much, Paul.

fyfe9

Lurker
Jan 30, 2007
Aberdeen
Got the clip off!! Now just can't get the enginer cover off. It's on tight, thought I heard it snap when I pulled the front of the cover.

Al

Aug 29, 2005
Spider legs plyers. I am an expert on doing this :D

fyfe9

Lurker
Jan 30, 2007
Aberdeen
Cheers guys, I gave up cos it was 10 and didn't want to make too much noise with anymore swearing!

That cover is just not moving, I undid all the clips shown in the picture that Zboyd(?) posted in another thread. I'll try again tomorrow.

Al

Aug 29, 2005
Cheers guys, I gave up cos it was 10 and didn't want to make too much noise with anymore swearing!

That cover is just not moving, I undid all the clips shown in the picture that Zboyd(?) posted in another thread. I'll try again tomorrow.

I could get it off in 15 seconds mate if you need a hand.

It really is a matter of giving it a tug on all 4 corners. It won't snap, the mounts are on the engine itself and the cover has a tight rubber bung that fits snug onto them. Those mounts are very very sturdy indeed, your back will go before they do!!!!