OBDeleven modifications

Tell

Full Member
Staff member
Moderator
The colour is suppose to key into the ambient lighting if you have it on the newer firmware. If you cant change the ambient light colour and it's fixed then the colour matches the fixed ambient light and the ambient light matches the paint work. That's the general rule.

Mine had ambient lighting on my 2016 Ateca but the original firmware in the high unit didn't key the infotainments screen box colour to the ambient light, after a firmware update it took on the 2018 way of working.

Firmware mib2 standard and high is locked down with a VAG private signature which limits people tinkering with the code which is gobably gook in anycase. Mib2 high there is a tool box of tweaks which do certain things, they can be googled which retrofitter integrate with their business offer but other than that, no, as Damo H said.

VCDS / Obdeleven customisation stuff is only there really for VAG to customise their offering between brands and system components. Like cornering fog lights, TSR etc. Other elements can be used to frig stop / starts. It can't be used to do something that VAG hasn't thought off or is burried deep into the component.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Ripley18711
Aug 11, 2020
9
0
I'm new to this and have received my OBDeleven device today but before making any changes, is there a way to backup all control units or do I have to do it one by one?
 

Tell

Full Member
Staff member
Moderator
I'm new to this and have received my OBDeleven device today but before making any changes, is there a way to backup all control units or do I have to do it one by one?
Have a look at the Spanish forum


Unlike a PC there isn't a restore you have to do this manually.

I'll plug the useful Ateca one at this stage, sister to this on this forum. The top of the thread starts simple but they are the Ateca ones but are / can be common but dependent on component parts then cross reference to German, Spanish and the Obdeleven one. The link above is in the Spanish thread I referenced. It does keep a track of changes. Always best to proceed with care. On Android I take screen shots before and after as well.

 
Aug 11, 2020
9
0
Have a look at the Spanish forum


Unlike a PC there isn't a restore you have to do this manually.

I'll plug the useful Ateca one at this stage, sister to this on this forum. The top of the thread starts simple but they are the Ateca ones but are / can be common but dependent on component parts then cross reference to German, Spanish and the Obdeleven one. The link above is in the Spanish thread I referenced. It does keep a track of changes. Always best to proceed with care. On Android I take screen shots before and after as well.

Yeah, just had a look around and it doesn't seems you can backup all control units so I will do it one by one and then backup the control unit after I made changes just in case.
 

Tell

Full Member
Staff member
Moderator
Yeah, just had a look around and it doesn't seems you can backup all control units so I will do it one by one and then backup the control unit after I made changes just in case.
It's this one you do a full scan and then email to yourself (top icon area) the scan which shows original and all changes. That goes across the control unit. Do the same within the control unit and you just see the control unit.

A useful thing about Obdeleven is you can also study the screens without the dongle in, like this :love: . Gives you a complete log or you can pick elements out.

Screenshot_20200929-160234.png


Shhh that top one is when I turned by Ateca into an Ateca Cupra... reverted it back thou to help resolve why standard infotainment units where not getting the correct Cupra car pictures. Plus unit I have. Gives the nice Cupra logo but to save myself looking like a smart charlie in the dealership reverted it back. 10 Cupra, 0 standard Ateca atleast in newer infotainment firmware. Will be the same for Leons I reckon.
 
Last edited:

Sjdickso

Newbie
Apr 21, 2005
169
19
I am a complete newbie so admin please apologise if this has been covered loads of times before.

I nearly just bought a OBDelven , then i wasnt sure if i need the pro activation or then the next gen one. and starter pack #confusion.

So i have a 2013 FR TDI i just want to read codes,see dpf regens if possible and also stop the auto start stop and oil service if i change the oil which i like to do every 6k on cars.

Can anyone advise what option is best for the above, really sorry if its been covered multiple times before.
 

Tell

Full Member
Staff member
Moderator
I am a complete newbie so admin please apologise if this has been covered loads of times before.

I nearly just bought a OBDelven , then i wasnt sure if i need the pro activation or then the next gen one. and starter pack #confusion.

So i have a 2013 FR TDI i just want to read codes,see dpf regens if possible and also stop the auto start stop and oil service if i change the oil which i like to do every 6k on cars.

Can anyone advise what option is best for the above, really sorry if its been covered multiple times before.
Best to get the Propack of the next gen. The ultimate just has stuff you dont need like case, extra credits you won't use if programming it. Keep mine in the jiffy pack it came in. I did buy the ring pull one, never use that.

The starter pack is the micro app credit driven one, that competes with Carista. The programmable one (activation code) competes with VCDS but on a mobile / tablet whilst the ultimate sells you additional stuff you dont need.

I use the original dongle on an Android tablet... next gen works on Androud / iOS. Assume no down side of the iOS side.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Sjdickso and Walone

Sjdickso

Newbie
Apr 21, 2005
169
19
@Tell many thanks for that, I will only be using android no need for IOS. So for what i want stay clear of the gen 1 device and just go for Pro gen two, i presume other wise will see myself buying credits and upgrading to pro.
 

Tell

Full Member
Staff member
Moderator
I'd say their website is a bit confusing on the pro activation of the gen 1 and 2. Assuming their activation option does both (it's just a scrap of paper with a code on it). I make the pro pack gen 2 with activation 25 Euros or so more expensive than gen 1 with activation. Black v white dongle. I'd go for the latest dongle which is suppose to be faster than the old one. 99-99 Euro one you dont need to buy any credits or anything else. The rest marketing hype.


This option I'd recommend

 
  • Like
Reactions: Sjdickso

Jordan Neill

Active Member
Nov 25, 2018
92
17
Hi guy and girls,

Been trying to work on the annoying power cutting, from the ESC / ASP. I've tried the app on obdeleven and I didnt notice any differences. Also still had the flashing warning sign and power cuts. I've now checked the below byte 29, and I cant seem to click traction control from 6 to 5. Wwhich I believe would turn it off. When I do this, it gives me error you can see in the picture. Any ideas how I can turn it off completely? Tia
 

Attachments

Nimbus hosting - Based solely in the UK.