power steering fault

ritchie roo

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

hi, newbie here desparately wanting an answer, i have searched the forum loads but i can't find the answer anywhere even though others have had the same or similiar problems.
the power steerng light/ system has an intermittent fault, sometimes the light comes on and the steering is fine other times you get partial loss of assistance and when its really moody it doesn't work at all. i've topped up the fluid (pain of a job for what it is) repaired the load signal cable (snapped) as described in the common faults section, lasted all of two days and the lights back on, had the battery checked but its alright (considering changing it anyway), had the steering position sensor out, bit damp so dried it in the house and sealed it back in, did that in the summer to try not to get any more moisture into the rack.
i've read seat generally just change parts ramdonly but that doesn't seem to work and just burns your wallet.
i should really mention its an cordie '53 tdi se (130) and the problem gets significantly worse as winter comes, had to put up with the missis moaning about it last year and i can't face it again
thanks in advance to any of you kind people for your input
(i originally posted this in the cordie section and thought its worth giving it a punt to the ibiza owner)

pete34a

Jan 9, 2009
Sounds obvious, but have you plugged it into VAG-com?

My faulty steering angle sensor caused similar problems. It brought up a fault on VAG-com. Replaced it and it's been fine ever since.

cheshire cat

Dec 28, 2002
cheshire
Visit site