fuzzgeller

Aug 15, 2007
kilrea N.I
maf problems

hey not on this often but am having trouble with my cupra and hoping somebody here can help me. my car when accelerating would sorta jump through the revs changin from full power to no power going throught the rev range. i seen on here that it could be the maf and got a new one which seemed to work great first couple of drives but now is near worse! when idling the revs seem far lower and if i give it a good revving in nuetral it will start to back fire. i'm not a mechanic an thought it was just a matter of a straight swap but maby it should be done in certain way or i havent done somethin stupid.lol.could this just be another dodgy maf or something else. ta fo help!

vwbassett

Joined the Dark Side
Aug 13, 2007
Surrey
Was it a genuine one? If its not only go for original bosch from the dealers not fake packaged ones from the likes of ebay like i had the misfortune to buy

fuzzgeller

Aug 15, 2007
kilrea N.I
have made the same mistake then as bought cheap off ebay:(may get proper seat one ordered up see if cant get my car back to full steam.lol. thanks alot

fuzzgeller

Aug 15, 2007
kilrea N.I
problem maf???

:confused:hey am still having bother with my cupra. was spluttering under accelleration but was ok under full throttle. i changed the maf to a brand new seat one which has changed things. it is now not as bad but still there but under full throttle it sometimes doesnt run as well as before and seems to hold back a bit:cry: someone told me it could be an egr valve?? was just wondering what you guys think as yousknow your way round them more. done a search and cant even find egr valve, is it hard to change could i do it myself?!?! any help would be appreciated

vwbassett

Joined the Dark Side
Aug 13, 2007
Surrey