• Hi Guest why not show off your SEAT! (now fixed)
    You can now share your favourite car photos in the new media gallery including embedding pictures from your Instagram account.
Tell

Navigation System Updates

Aug 11, 2020
2
0
Apologies in advance if this is not the right place to post this but I have a 2016 VW Polo and am in Australia. I have looked through these forums but just had a couple of quesitons.

I have downloaded and installed the latest maps to the SD card.

The Discover Media unit is running SHIELD 2016-03 (Build 020) which seems to be a couple of years old.

Am I right to assume that this link (https://vw-maps-cdn.lighthouselabs.eu/vw-maps/DiscoverMedia2_EU_AS_1430_V12.7z) that was posted a few pages ago is the SHIELD 2016-44 (Build 309) update and is the correct one for my car?

If so how do I go about installing it?
 

Tell

Full Member
Staff member
Moderator
Apologies in advance if this is not the right place to post this but I have a 2016 VW Polo and am in Australia. I have looked through these forums but just had a couple of quesitons.

I have downloaded and installed the latest maps to the SD card.

The Discover Media unit is running SHIELD 2016-03 (Build 020) which seems to be a couple of years old.

Am I right to assume that this link (https://vw-maps-cdn.lighthouselabs.eu/vw-maps/DiscoverMedia2_EU_AS_1430_V12.7z) that was posted a few pages ago is the SHIELD 2016-44 (Build 309) update and is the correct one for my car?

If so how do I go about installing it?
That's a European map. You want


Select your car and it's the one listed under:

Non-European Countries – Bundle 3

Always take a backup, you might be fine for Mapcare since it's a recent VW but if not take the workaround instructions as per the thread. Obey the special Mac instructions if using a Mac (CleanMydrive etc). Those are on the thread but also off the bottom of the VW link to a PDF. Use 7 zip if using a PC. Download link for 7 zip is on the bottom of the VW page once the car is identified and unit.

1420 for you is still the latest. Due to change in a month or so.

Direct download is this link:


Mapcare is built into all VWs now, free for life think Australia got it before 2016 although some cars did get imported without and had to go back to a dealer to be adjusted. The so called "workaround" with the overall.nds file fixes that so not the end of the world. Since it's a VW I'd just take a back up copy of the SD, copy across the new material after unzipping following the guidance and see whether it works. If it says Navigation error or something like that with the correct zone map then follow the guidance of this thread on the workaround. Your overall.nds file will be in the back up that you will need. That's sitting in \EEC\EEC_WLD take the old one and copy across onto the SD card replacing the new one. This is the "workaround" in a nutshell.

If you did emigrate with the car we have solution for that on the thread (joint working with the T6 Forum)... but suspect you bought it out there.

Note for Seat UK readers you must follow the "workaround" since it won't work by just replacing the contents of the card unless the car came with the one year complementary mapcare which is shown on the build codes of the car. After a years ownership that is it, the workaround for you if it has the standard system or get the navigation FeC adjusted if you have a high / plus unit using a decent retrofitter that's if you want to do the bi - annual map updates yourself. Ditto elsewhere in Europe unless you took out Mapcare. Such concerns don't worry VW and Skoda owners since Mapcare is free for life (disabled). On a standard unit always backup the maps before replacing them.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Walone

simaservis1108

Active Member
Jan 4, 2018
37
5
Now it is possible to turn CID check in Standard units,and also installation of Lifetime Mapcare in Standard and High units.
If anyone needs,contact me in PM.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Walone

Tell

Full Member
Staff member
Moderator
Only the last one on a mib2 you can't do as a DIY task in your own home (mib2 high). First one, mib2 standard you can manufacture your own SD card with a cloned CID (on the thread) or just buy any mib2 VAG sd card if you have lost one (much easier and costs the same) and follow lost card instructions on the thread includes the workaround method using Seat v1 card image for the overall.nds file which you need which is the universal fix if you have lost the original overall.nds file paired to the unit. E.g. bought a car with mib2 standard but without the card with it. (Possibly pushed in the CD slot it happens :sick:).

"Lifetime Mapcare" on a mib2 standard can be achieved by just copying the overall.nds file that's on the original card paired to the unit to the updated maps (Exciter method). No need to send the unit to anyone.

Just leaves mib1 standard and high where DIY isn't possible and ofcourse mib2 high. UK based outfits can do the latter, never got round to enquiring on the former. I can't imagine they don't have the knowledge. More pressing need at the time of getting their handy work on my mib2 high unit right than go off on a tangent on their mib1 abilities :). Floated that one up a few times or just replace your mib1 with a mib2 if you think your car is deserving of an upgrade. DIY project (there are threads on the net but pit falls which you can read about) or give the task to a retrofitter.

(card in CD slot :sick: = just buy the release keys from your favourite online store, remove one lead to ease forward, unscrew the top and fish out what you dropped in it... YouTube videos on that, breaks any warranty you might have... You only make that mistake once then learn how to feel the SD slot from the CD slot... only happens on compact cars where you can't see the unit in the glove box:unsure:)
 
  • Like
Reactions: slartibartfast

CupraRST

Active Member
Feb 25, 2020
44
12
NL
This week I visited a dealer in the Netherlands and talked about updating the maps in the Navi Plus systems. I was told that beginning with model year 2019 all SEAT's sold in Europe (excluded the UK cars) are provided wth a lifetime Mapcare, so can be updated by the owner for free.
Why UK cars are excluded, they could not tell. That can be either because there's a difference between rhd and lhd driven cars, or it has financial reasons by agreements between the SEAT factory and SEAT UK.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tell and Walone

Tell

Full Member
Staff member
Moderator
It would be great if they did that in the UK.... saying this sure this wasn't the one year complimentary mapcare first offered. They did not use to be sold with this but checking your build codes you can see it appear as a line. The navigation high FeC check I provided over on the Ateca forum and the thread is the double check. If like Skodas Seat would have to run with different firmware that omitted Mapcare or just set the FeC high in the unit. Would be interesting to get this collaborated. The German Ateca forum still appears to be moaning on the subject. Just follow the instructions and see what it says:


VAG group could just enable it on all existing Seats by setting future map releases with the Hex check set low... that's if they wanted to be helpful. That's as if you are installing old maps in the unit which is allowed, a feature of Mapcare.

Building myself a German Ateca I got this. Still chargeable, the free bit is the non updatable maps I'd say. The other option is the 3 year fixed one unless anyone says anything different. I.e. no change on the continent but can be checked by anyone over there against the link above where the navigation FeC would take you beyond three years if the dealer story was correct. Did a few Googles, the situation is as is. Limited mapcare, not free for life in Europe on Seats. Their pet moan on the German Ateca Forum is that the three year Mapcare bought for a token figure starts on the build day, with delivery delays you miss the full three years (6 updates). Three years on the price is rammed up to 500 Euros or so for the next three years. Antagonism of Mapcare goes on. Buy a VW or Skoda and it is free for life of the car.

In summary, a dealer yarn.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

CupraRST

Active Member
Feb 25, 2020
44
12
NL
It would be great if they did that in the UK.... saying this sure this wasn't the one year complimentary mapcare first offered. They did not use to be sold with this but checking your build codes you can see it appear as a line. The navigation high FeC check I provided over on the Ateca forum and the thread is the double check. If like Skodas Seat would have to run with different firmware that omitted Mapcare or just set the FeC high in the unit. Would be interesting to get this collaborated. The German Ateca forum still appears to be moaning on the subject. Just follow the instructions and see what it says:


VAG group could just enable it on all existing Seats by setting future map releases with the Hex check set low... that's if they wanted to be helpful. That's as if you are installing old maps in the unit which is allowed, a feature of Mapcare.

Building myself a German Ateca I got this. Still chargeable, the free bit is the non updatable maps I'd say. The other option is the 3 year fixed one unless anyone says anything different. I.e. no change on the continent but can be checked by anyone over there against the link above where the navigation FeC would take you beyond three years if the dealer story was correct. Did a few Googles, the situation is as is. Limited mapcare, not free for life in Europe on Seats. Their pet moan on the German Ateca Forum is that the three year Mapcare bought for a token figure starts on the build day, with delivery delays you miss the full three years (6 updates). Three years on the price is rammed up to 500 Euros or so for the next three years. Antagonism of Mapcare goes on. Buy a VW or Skoda and it is free for life of the car.

In summary, a dealer yarn.
I followed the steps you described in the linked post and found the line starting with 073.
The full code is:
073000ee stated as "valid".

So now I'm curious to know what that means. Can you help me out? Thank you!
 
Last edited:

Tell

Full Member
Staff member
Moderator
I followed the steps you decribed in the linked post and found the line starting with 073.
The full code is:
073000ee stated as "valid".

So now I'm curious to know what that means. Can you help me out? Thank you!
It means it's at the end of the table


Which would mean pretty unlimited. Keep you going to the year 2074[$]. That's the code you need in the retrofit units.

I'd like some report backs from other Navigation Plus users on the continent and the UK now just in case this change has weedled it's way out into units being shipped. This is an unmodded unit you have the're?.

[$] 2020 +((255−37)÷4) based on the Hex table and validation points we have.... to be set at the end point means someone knows what they are doing :eek:.

Using


Hex 25 is June 2020, Dec 37, ee Dec 255. Navigation FeC index runs in steps of 4 by year. Hence divide by 4 and add 2020 back on.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Walone

Walone

Active Member
Feb 10, 2016
953
182
Near Heathrow
It means it's at the end of the table


Which would mean pretty unlimited. Keep you going to the year 2074[$]. That's the code you need in the retrofit units.

I'd like some report backs from other Navigation Plus users on the continent and the UK now just in case this change has weedled it's way out into units being shipped. This is an unmodded unit you have the're?.

[$] 2020 +((255−37)÷4) based on the Hex table and validation points we have.... to be set at the end point means someone knows what they are doing :eek:
This is looking good!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tell

Tell

Full Member
Staff member
Moderator
This is looking good!
Need to find out whether this was a retrofit unit or production and whether anybody else has that FeC navigation code. It has been known that units leave the Ateca factory with Mapcare on them when they shouldn't, may be they are now making Mapcare for life in certain locations as was suggested. If that's the case perhaps those people that pay the 120 Euros or whatever it was get it for life. In the UK we don't have that option.

Still the navigation FeC 073000ee is a good one to have from a retro-fitter :cool:. Must insist next time.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Walone

Tell

Full Member
Staff member
Moderator
Ok wearing my researcher hat did a google on 073000ee ;).

Good stuff here. The German thread is about the 877 / 877a hardware issue on Poi import which we know the answer to now, needed the new unit descriptor in the poi import else the firmware ignored it... but has a handy table, also tallies with my decode table which we like.

They start exchanging FeCs on their My2019 Leons, post 49 is the good one:

https://www.seat-leon.de/forum/threads/pois-beim-mj19-navi.120938/page-3

》》
I'll attach all the FSC / FECs used by SEAT.
So everyone can decipher their function :)
codes (applies to MJ19)

Main functions
00030000AMI Enable / USB
00030001Gracenote DB EU
00050000Bluetooth Enable
00060200Infotainment control (SAI_RSE)
00060300Mirror Link
00060400Sports HMI
00060800Apple Carplay
00060900Google Automotive Link
00070100SDS Speech Dialog System (voice control)
00070200SDS Speech Dialog System (voice control) for navigation
00040100Ready4Nav - navigation function activated
Navigation plus
0730001CDB_EU_MIB2_HIGH_SEAT_45_17
0730001EDB_EU_MIB2_HIGH_SEAT_22_18
07300020DB_EU_MIB2_HIGH_SEAT_45_18
07300022DB_EU_MIB2_HIGH_SEAT_22_19
07300024DB_EU_MIB2_HIGH_SEAT_45_19
07300026DB_EU_MIB2_HIGH_SEAT_22_20
07300028DB_EU_MIB2_HIGH_SEAT_45_20
073000EEDB_EU_MIB2_HIGH_SEAT_Lifetime_Mapcare
Navigation standard
07400000DB_EU_MIB_STD_GEN2_SEAT_SOP1
0740000CDB_EU_MIB_STD_GEN2_SEAT_45_17
0740000EDB_EU_MIB_STD_GEN2_SEAT_22_18
07400010DB_EU_MIB_STD_GEN2_SEAT_45_18
07400012DB_EU_MIB_STD_GEN2_SEAT_22_19
07400014DB_EU_MIB_STD_GEN2_SEAT_45_19
07400016DB_EU_MIB_STD_GEN2_SEAT_22_20
07400018DB_EU_MIB_STD_GEN2_SEAT_45_20
074000EEDB_EU_MIB_STD_GEN2_SEAT_Lifetime_Mapcare
》》

& there we have the high and standard navigation FeCs, EE is defined as Lifetime.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Walone

Walone

Active Member
Feb 10, 2016
953
182
Near Heathrow
Need to find out whether this was a retrofit unit or production and whether anybody else has that FeC navigation code. It has been known that units leave the Ateca factory with Mapcare on them when they shouldn't, may be they are now making Mapcare for life in certain locations as was suggested. If that's the case perhaps those people that pay the 120 Euros or whatever it was get it for life. In the UK we don't have that option.

Still the navigation FeC 073000ee is a good one to have from a retro-fitter :cool:. Must insist next time.
I'm still waiting to hear back from Tom/Blazej (Vagtec) about their failure to update my map FEC, I suspect I will have to pay someone else to do it!
 

Tell

Full Member
Staff member
Moderator
I'm still waiting to hear back from Tom/Blazej (Vagtec) about their failure to update my map FEC, I suspect I will have to pay someone else to do it!
& this will test whether you need new firmware or whether the FeC package is independent and just needs replacing with someone else's handy work. The FeC package is tailored to the firmware so you might as well get a firmware update if there was one you wanted. The old one quoted is that the firmware is regular but the FeC package isn't so you would expect that can be changed.

I'm sure Tom and Blaze can raise to the occasion if they are still working together. The correction they gave me free but didn't have the EE on the end :devilish:. Knowledge is everything. But we did have issues with TSR working in KPH, think that may have been due to enabling the maps before correcting the FeC since I know when the maps are deactivated TSR reverts to KPH. It was OK first time round but got the problem. They fixed the problem with the dump they had taken from the unit a year before restoring the settings.

What we know now on the high is to make sure your retrofitter gives you the 073000EE FeC, thanks @CupraRST for identifying what has been going on in Europe on Seat Mapcare offering.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Walone

CupraRST

Active Member
Feb 25, 2020
44
12
NL
It means it's at the end of the table


Which would mean pretty unlimited. Keep you going to the year 2074[$]. That's the code you need in the retrofit units.

I'd like some report backs from other Navigation Plus users on the continent and the UK now just in case this change has weedled it's way out into units being shipped. This is an unmodded unit you have the're?.

[$] 2020 +((255−37)÷4) based on the Hex table and validation points we have.... to be set at the end point means someone knows what they are doing :eek:.

Using


Hex 25 is June 2020, Dec 37, ee Dec 255. Navigation FeC index runs in steps of 4 by year. Hence divide by 4 and add 2020 back on.

@Tell Thanks a lot for all your explaining. It's a bit like coded language to me, but I can follow the main lines. And I'm very happy with the Lifetime Mapcare till 2074, wow!

I can confirm that the Navi Plus unit in my Cupra R ST (2019) is completely stock, it was ordered the same time I ordered the car (being standard in this car, at least in the Netherlands), there was no option on the order form to order any type of Mapcare with it, the firmware is still the same. So it seems that the Lifetime Mapcare was indeed part of it!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Walone and Tell

CupraRST

Active Member
Feb 25, 2020
44
12
NL
I do have a question about the downloaded map update for the Navi Plus, compared to the already installed version:

The in car version is V03959802MN0172 (ECE 2019), so seems to be version 172 from 2019.

The file I downloaded 2 weeks ago from https://www.seat.com/owners/my-seat/navigation/leon-navi-system-plus.html (25,3 Gb, called EU_HIGH_T176.zip) seems to be version 176, so it should be a couple of versions newer. But inside the unzipped package there is an Excel file with the inside message
T176_N60S5MIBH3_EU_NT_Q3.18
being the product name. And that shows that it is the version from quarter 3 in 2018. So it should be older than the currently installed version???

While starting the update process (that I didn't do yet) is there an automated version check to permit only updating to a newer version, so preventing making a step (or more) back? This feels scary to me...
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tell

Tell

Full Member
Staff member
Moderator
@CupraRST just in case it got lost in your question since you have unlimited Mapcare on a high you just use the VW map update site instructions since the Seat map update site tends to lag behind VW and the servers are faster:


You select say a recent Tiguan (2019) and Discover Pro unit, that is the Seat Plus unit (mib2 high), select download. The VW instructions are on the PDF, well written, 7 zip can be downloaded from the link. You are advised on a PC to only use 7 zip. If a Mac you need to use CleanMydrive on the SD card after the copy and the VW recommended Mac unzip “Keka” .

The units import needs to read exactly what was downloaded. It does a signature check. If there is an issue it will not start the update process off. Forums tend to be full of these issues for the high but as long as one does not vary from VW instructions and your navigation high FeC is fine. It will go ahead.

For a PC best to download and unzip to a local drive, then copy the contents to the SD card, you need a 32gb standard SD card, class 10, Fat 32 format. People mess this bit up by formatting the card to something other than Fat 32. You can use a USB if you want, probably better with SD card. Then once installed in the unit and triggered off it will do the update over a period of time restarting from where it left off, if you stop and start the car. 1-2 hours.

Retrofit you use the backend menu which won't be available to you. Some Leon mib2 high owners in the UK with the fixed delivery one year Mapcare have done it that way (VW route front screen), basically all Skoda owners without connect services use the VW site. All the same maps but released later although Seat did put out some odd quarters at one stage probably by accident. They do have recent mib2 standard South America and Middle East maps thou that VW aren't publishing so not all bad.

I have a bit more here:


187 is the current release (June 2020). It's the standard map we are waiting on.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

Tell

Full Member
Staff member
Moderator
I do have a question about the downloaded map update for the Navi Plus, compared to the already installed version:

The in car version is V03959802MN0172 (ECE 2019), so seems to be version 172 from 2019.

The file I downloaded 2 weeks ago from https://www.seat.com/owners/my-seat/navigation/leon-navi-system-plus.html (25,3 Gb, called EU_HIGH_T176.zip) seems to be version 176, so it should be a couple of versions newer. But inside the unzipped package there is an Excel file with the inside message
T176_N60S5MIBH3_EU_NT_Q3.18
being the product name. And that shows that it is the version from quarter 3 in 2018. So it should be older than the currently installed version???

While starting the update process (that I didn't do yet) is there an automated version check to permit only updating to a newer version, so preventing making a step (or more) back? This feels scary to me...
Crossed posts see above. Use the VW download. That is the most recent direct link:


And eyeball VW pdf
 

CupraRST

Active Member
Feb 25, 2020
44
12
NL
@Tell
Thank you again Tell, you are such a great help!
I will be going to read myself into this VW route.
Is there no risk of loosing any of the Cupra (Leon ST) signs (like the bronze Cupra lettering in the starting screen, the Cupra flag in the digital cockpit, the car pictures within the driving aids, etc.) while going the VW route? Are they stored elsewhere?

And just in case: Is there any update safety build in the system, making it impossible to accidently downgrade to an older version while trying to upgrade?

Have a nice weekend! (That goes to all of you!)
 

Tell

Full Member
Staff member
Moderator
@Tell
Thank you again Tell, you are such a great help!
I will be going to read myself into this VW route.
Is there no risk of loosing any of the Cupra (Leon ST) signs (like the bronze Cupra lettering in the starting screen, the Cupra flag in the digital cockpit, the car pictures within the driving aids, etc.) while going the VW route? Are they stored elsewhere?

And just in case: Is there any update safety build in the system, making it impossible to accidently downgrade to an older version while trying to upgrade?

Have a nice weekend! (That goes to all of you!)
You won't loose your Cupra icons they are controlled by VCDS. They are stored elsewhere. It only updates the maps. Saved destinations and user POIs are left as is as well. Just the map memory.

With regard to downgrading a built in feature is that you can downgrade as well as upgrade, latter controlled by FeCs. So as long as the map series number is greater than what you have it's an upgrade. It will also show that on the screen once you have finished. Information / about what ever that option is.

Whilst running the update on the unit in the background disables navigation during the process you should come out the other end fine. Some people drive to work, turn the engine off, drive back and find the maps updated. You can always sit with the car with the engine running for the period :). The unit powers off about 20 minutes after the door is last closed with the engine off. You can do it off battery, least in the developer mode which is how I do opening the door every 15 minutes / visit the car twice. Does take longer the front end way (up to two hours) but the advantage is it remembers where it got to and will start up again if it looses power from where it got to, developers menu, no you have to start again from scratch. It is designed to be updated the way you will do it.

If you have any doubts this is where it was done using the front screen using the UK not for life Mapcare using the VW download:


I was a spoil sport and worked out when their Mapcare would run out @paddy6789 given their FeC codes from Walone ;).

So Paddy can tell you how it went that way. It's just the normal VAG high map update using the timely VW website.
 
Last edited:
Aug 11, 2020
2
0
I'm a bit confused. I have updated my 2016 VW Polo to the latest maps (AUSTRALIA 1420 v12.7), but my SHIELD VERSION is still showing:

SHIELD 2016-03 (build 020)

How do I upgrade this so it is showing SHIELD 2016-44 (build 309) like others have in this thread?
 
SEATCUPRA.NET Forum merchandise