Tell

Updating the inbuilt Mib2 Satnav / Mib2 tricks and Mib1

Aug 5, 2020
I have an MIB1 with the attached maps. I'm new to all this how do I update them and can I even update them?
IMG_20200828_172417.jpg

Tell

Staff member
I have an MIB1 with the attached maps. I'm new to all this how do I update them and can I even update them? View attachment 17872

Not a DIY task. A dealer unregisters your card with the unit and re-registers a new card about £120 or something. People that love their car more than their mib1 unit treat it to a mib2 (retrofit) then you can update the maps to your hearts content with the workaround or the FEC might be written to a high value so you can use it as if it has Mapcare for life or get a mib2 high retrofit with the FECs set at a high value for life (although some retrofitters have been known to short change of the map FECs). You can buy the component parts from a retrofitter and DIY if that takes your fancy or get them to do it. The more swash buckling technique if you are really into DIY tasks is to cut the retrofitter out. You read threads on that on the net / blogs. Some people loose their mib2 unit navigation license by doing that since they get component protection removed which looses the map license from the previous car (2nd hand unit) which they have to buy again (The license or go to a retrofitter to sort it out). There are ways around this... You can read all about that on the net. Off topic for this thread.

There are punters in East Europe that want your mib1 to convert so it reads mib1 maps, others process mib1 maps to work with it after modding your unit. No retrofitter in the UK seems to run this modding mib1 business. It's come up on the thread a couple of times probably the same guy. Personally I wouldn't gamble on sending a unit out of the country.