Tell

Updating the inbuilt Mib2 Satnav / Mib2 tricks and lost Mib1 card solution

Walone

Active Member
Feb 10, 2016
1,037
218
Near Heathrow
Yes it's 1219.

Does someone have a link for SW1440? Is it risky to upgrade the system (non official coding, full link...) or will I have all my settings safe?
I have software 1409 which I was told is the latest for pre- facelift cars, but I don't know what effect it would have on your non-official coding etc., I know that when i updated my unit previously I had to enable Car play and Android auto again but it was easy to do.
 
  • Like
Reactions: BaptisteR

Slickric21

Active Member
Feb 23, 2019
341
169
Norfolk
Yes there is a description that saying Slickric21 knows everything. It says if you are not sure ask him. Sorry boss, I posted without your permission. There is something called "experience". Please google it.
I’m only asking as I’m very interested in any experience or info on this 0515 software.

Thought maybe you would know, that’s all.

Why would you be so defensive about me asking this ???

Anyway this thread is about Navigation Map updates, there is software update threads all over this forum, for eg


Just be wary on that thread there is a user who tries to promote ‘vagupdate.com’ where you can buy software updates.
I mean you can’t go to Seat and get them done easily, and doing it yourself from files found in the Internet is a lengthy risky process, but you can just buy them from some cheap looking website and update yourself easily....hmmmm.... this is also a website that claims to be based in New Jersey, USA but is in fact based in Turkey (not hard to find this out)

In fact we have a forum member here whose profile states they are based in New Jersey yet are based in Turkey and promotes this site ;)

I’ll let you figure out who that is.....
 
Last edited:

Tell

Full Member
Staff member
Moderator
Have a feeling this may be one for the firmware thread :).

In other news Walone sent me the link of someone doing a high navigation update using the normal menu since their unit was within the the one year Mapcare upgrade warranty. Tallied with the FEC navigation decoder I posted up on when you can do it and when you can't.

No news on the June 2020 standard navigation download yet. Reckon it will be Monday :). Two weeks after the high.
 
Jun 25, 2020
10
1
I have software 1409 which I was told is the latest for pre- facelift cars, but I don't know what effect it would have on your non-official coding etc., I know that when i updated my unit previously I had to enable Car play and Android auto again but it was easy to do.
Yes thank you! I don't know too what will happen to my non-official codings. I found a contact in France which can upgrade the SW and everything for 250€. Did you notice a difference between sw 1219 and 1409?
 

Tell

Full Member
Staff member
Moderator
Yes thank you! I don't know too what will happen to my non-official codings. I found a contact in France which can upgrade the SW and everything for 250€. Did you notice a difference between sw 1219 and 1409?
TMC is the other one they leave off and short change you on the Navigation FeC for repeat business I assume. Then when I did get the FeC adjusted it messed up TSR so it operated in KPH and not MPH so told you, you were speeding at much lower speed. Took them about five hours to solve that. Reckon that was because they adjusted the navigation FeC when the maps were not valid or their patch didn't adjust that as well since it was designed for Europe / not fully specified car with TSR.

Retrofitters can be sometimes be like the poor IT technician that leaves you with a bunch of problems that you sort out yourself after or you have to keep going back till they sort it (no Microsoft accreditation for their work :) - fine if they sort it out in the end or you do). Getting the navigation FeC corrected didn't cost me anything apart from two nights away and driving across the country. A chargeable firmware update was dangled but given I was happy with the firmware I passed on that, took their free aftercare only. Ateca 2019. 1338 is what I'm on shifted from the 2016 one.

Basically I drew up a check list from Walones experience and checked before I left, TSR was the new one which you couldn't check till you were on the road. Had much driving round Doncaster to check it. All good.

The story goes that the firmware isn't modded, its the coding that is changed. Its that coding they dont put back that the causes the issues. The first time it was done they took a dump of the coding as is and it was that they put back after the firmware update with the short changed navigation FeC (was suppose to be unlimited like VW and Skoda that's achieved by putting the Hex in the FeC high) that offered one year of updates. Second time around to have the FeC adjusted the solution to the TSR issue was to restore my settings from the dump they took a year before. First time round they patched into the data flow of the car using the front camera port to read that. It's that which was used to manufacture the update that was delivered back down the line and into an SD card then inserted. Then the VAG tool to make further adjustments.

That's when I derived the ready reckoner on the Seat navigation FeC so you knew where you were so whether you had Mapcare or not you knew your limits to the high updates being imported. You can check what your retrofitter has left you with or if you have limited Mapcare where you are on future updates.

https://www.seatcupra.net/forums/th...of-mib2-high-plus-updates-can-be-made.457561/

So it must be that if you buy the firmware from your "Turkish" man you are left with resetting the coding yourself via VCDS, the professionals, dependent on how professional they are (No VW accreditation;)) should take a copy of the coding and restore it back, if they don't, that's when you get left in a pickle. The personal touch of driving to the place and not leaving till it works has much going for it.
 
Jun 25, 2020
10
1
TMC is the other one they leave off and short change you on the Navigation FeC for repeat business I assume. Then when I did get the FeC adjusted it messed up TSR so it operated in KPH and not MPH so told you, you were speeding at much lower speed. Took them about five hours to solve that. Reckon that was because they adjusted the navigation FeC when the maps were not valid or their patch didn't adjust that as well since it was designed for Europe / not fully specified car with TSR.

Retrofitters can be sometimes be like the poor IT technician that leaves you with a bunch of problems that you sort out yourself after or you have to keep going back till they sort it (no Microsoft accreditation for their work :) - fine if they sort it out in the end or you do). Getting the navigation FeC corrected didn't cost me anything apart from two nights away and driving across the country. A chargeable firmware update was dangled but given I was happy with the firmware I passed on that, took their free aftercare only. Ateca 2019. 1338 is what I'm on shifted from the 2016 one.

Basically I drew up a check list from Walones experience and checked before I left, TSR was the new one which you couldn't check till you were on the road. Had much driving round Doncaster to check it. All good.

The story goes that the firmware isn't modded, its the coding that is changed. Its that coding they dont put back that the causes the issues. The first time it was done they took a dump of the coding as is and it was that they put back after the firmware update with the short changed navigation FeC (was suppose to be unlimited like VW and Skoda that's achieved by putting the Hex in the FeC high) that offered one year of updates. Second time around to have the FeC adjusted the solution to the TSR issue was to restore my settings from the dump they took a year before. First time round they patched into the data flow of the car using the front camera port to read that. It's that which was used to manufacture the update that was delivered back down the line and into an SD card then inserted. Then the VAG tool to make further adjustments.

That's when I derived the ready reckoner on the Seat navigation FeC so you knew where you were so whether you had Mapcare or not you knew your limits to the high updates being imported. You can check what your retrofitter has left you with or if you have limited Mapcare where you are on future updates.

https://www.seatcupra.net/forums/th...of-mib2-high-plus-updates-can-be-made.457561/

So it must be that if you buy the firmware from your "Turkish" man you are left with resetting the coding yourself via VCDS, the professionals, dependent on how professional they are (No VW accreditation;)) should take a copy of the coding and restore it back, if they don't, that's when you get left in a pickle. The personal touch of driving to the place and not leaving till it works has much going for it.
I'm sorry but I didn't understand all your abreviations (TSR, TMC; FeC). :cry:

I understand that I may have some issues by upgrading the software in my codings because I will have to adapt some of them. Mapcare is not something I'm interested in because all I want running smooth is apple carplay which is my main problem with sw1219 (crashes, freezes,...). I have VCDS to put on some options if needed even if I'm not a specialist :)

The man who will upgrade my system is not Turkish and is someone acknowledged for his good work in France (surely the only one that can do this the right way). He explained me that if my apple carplay is not supporting more than one task it's surely because of the programmation. For example when I use Waze (gps application) and then I try to call someone by apple carplay it crashes and block the unit for 2 minutes or disconnect apple carplay.

Thanks for your explainations Tell
 

Tell

Full Member
Staff member
Moderator
I'm sorry but I didn't understand all your abreviations (TSR, TMC; FeC). :cry:

I understand that I may have some issues by upgrading the software in my codings because I will have to adapt some of them. Mapcare is not something I'm interested in because all I want running smooth is apple carplay which is my main problem with sw1219 (crashes, freezes,...). I have VCDS to put on some options if needed even if I'm not a specialist :)

The man who will upgrade my system is not Turkish and is someone acknowledged for his good work in France (surely the only one that can do this the right way). He explained me that if my apple carplay is not supporting more than one task it's surely because of the programmation. For example when I use Waze (gps application) and then I try to call someone by apple carplay it crashes and block the unit for 2 minutes or disconnect apple carplay.

Thanks for your explainations Tell
TSR = trafic sign recognition (front lane assist camera)
TMC = trafic management channel
FeC = feature enablement code

Later are control licenses which are locked down unlike VCDS coding.

TMC you wouldnt be interested in if you use Google. TSR is very good tells you when you are speeding, using the cars navigation map and image recognition of traffic signs (dynamic traffic sign recognition). Good on new speed limits or road works. Get a beep when exceeding the speed. Seat have taken to turning this feature off but you can enable it if your car has lane assist since it uses the high definition camera of lane assist.
 
  • Like
Reactions: BaptisteR
Jun 25, 2020
10
1
TSR = trafic sign recognition (front lane assist camera)
TMC = trafic management channel
FeC = feature enablement code

Later are control licenses which are locked down unlike VCDS coding.

TMC you wouldnt be interested in if you use Google. TSR is very good tells you when you are speeding, using the cars navigation map and image recognition of traffic signs (dynamic traffic sign recognition). Good on new speed limits or road works. Get a beep when exceeding the speed. Seat have taken to turning this feature off but you can enable it if your car has lane assist since it uses the high definition camera of lane assist.
Ah ockay! My leon cupra from 2014 hasn't the lane assist :happy:
 

Walone

Active Member
Feb 10, 2016
1,037
218
Near Heathrow
Yes thank you! I don't know too what will happen to my non-official codings. I found a contact in France which can upgrade the SW and everything for 250€. Did you notice a difference between sw 1219 and 1409?
I didn't notice much difference going from 1219 to 1409, perhaps a little 'smoother' operation, I only use Android auto (not Carplay) but I've not had any problems with it. The other thing is that because I retrofitted an 8" display if I did a system reset it defaulted to the 650 resolution so I had to change it in the hidden menu to 800 resolution, since the 1409 update the default is 800 resolution but I don't know if the update solved that.
 
Jun 28, 2020
4
1
Hi all,

I'm the happy owner of a Seat Leon ST 150 Tdi from 2015.
I have the Navi System Plus (with hard drive) and NO mapcare option that was not available when I baught the car...
I spend 3 hours reading this thread and others on the web and I have to admit that I'm lost here...
Here is what I have in my system and I'm looking for how to update to a newer release for free.

IMG_20200628_143534.jpg


What do I have to download and maybe doing for being able to update my system please?

Thanks in advance for your support!

Olivier
 

Tell

Full Member
Staff member
Moderator
Hi all,

I'm the happy owner of a Seat Leon ST 150 Tdi from 2015.
I have the Navi System Plus (with hard drive) and NO mapcare option that was not available when I baught the car...
I spend 3 hours reading this thread and others on the web and I have to admit that I'm lost here...
Here is what I have in my system and I'm looking for how to update to a newer release for free.

View attachment 15881

What do I have to download and maybe doing for being able to update my system please?

Thanks in advance for your support!

Olivier
I did spend 18 months trying to do it for free but the upload is locked down with an SHA1 signature so you can't edit the upload. I did manage to update the voice and POIs since they aren't protected but the Navdb upload is. The update process works on the Navigation FeC being valid for the period of the map. Its a Hex code.

I published a self check having worked out how to decode the Seat Navigation FeC, that is protected by a signature as well.


There are toolkits, a free one, but the domain of writing the FeC is populated by the Jolly Roger retrofitters unless that has changed of recent. Some better than others. Hence the self check so you can see what you have got since that's the all important validation gateway. The SWDL menu is the one you use on retrofits to import the maps in if the FeC us fine. If it's not you can't do it. You import them and it will block you from validation within 30 seconds if selecting a destination. You revert back to a valid import. Mention that since some of us have been there.

The free toolkit is here. Its a hobbyist development. Guy did pop up once here who wrote it. But my understanding is that the FeC writing is still under the domain of retrofitters.


In Europe my understanding is that there are hobbyist groups that meet up for the better good. Failing that you need a retrofitter, it will cost about £200 and you make sure you get your navigation FeC set at a high level and not fobbed of with new firmware but a short FeC period. Its a buyer beware thing. You could always buy Mapcare if its offered in your country, it isnt in the UK.
 
Jun 28, 2020
4
1
I did spend 18 months trying to do it for free but the upload is locked down with an SHA1 signature so you can't edit the upload. I did manage to update the voice and POIs since they aren't protected but the Navdb upload is. The update process works on the Navigation FeC being valid for the period of the map. Its a Hex code.

I published a self check having worked out how to decode the Seat Navigation FeC, that is protected by a signature as well.


There are toolkits, a free one, but the domain of writing the FeC is populated by the Jolly Roger retrofitters unless that has changed of recent. Some better than others. Hence the self check so you can see what you have got since that's the all important validation gateway. The SWDL menu is the one you use on retrofits to import the maps in if the FeC us fine. If it's not you can't do it. You import them and it will block you from validation within 30 seconds if selecting a destination. You revert back to a valid import. Mention that since some of us have been there.

The free toolkit is here. Its a hobbyist development. Guy did pop up once here who wrote it. But my understanding is that the FeC writing is still under the domain of retrofitters.


In Europe my understanding is that there are hobbyist groups that meet up for the better good. Failing that you need a retrofitter, it will cost about £200 and you make sure you get your navigation FeC set at a high level and not fobbed of with new firmware but a short FeC period. Its a buyer beware thing. You could always buy Mapcare if its offered in your country, it isnt in the UK.
Hi Tell and thanks for your answer.

I did check going in the Services Menu but I only have two options : Update and see HMI versions. I don't have the option Function enabling codes (FEC, SWaP) .

Maybe my software release is too old? But it seems I can upgrade it thru the Services Menu.
Do you know where I can find a up to date release please?
 

Tell

Full Member
Staff member
Moderator
Hi Tell and thanks for your answer.

I did check going in the Services Menu but I only have two options : Update and see HMI versions. I don't have the option Function enabling codes (FEC, SWaP) .

Maybe my software release is too old? But it seems I can upgrade it thru the Services Menu.
Do you know where I can find a up to date release please?
Why I gave the details of how to dig yourself out of a hole after temptation got the better of you was for that reason. You would have to find the serial release you are on before ECE 2015 before you upload any new maps if you havent had your FeCs changed since your unit will lock up navigation. Odbeleven will enable the service developers menu, post 34 other VCDS tools may do the same:


That will give you the retrofit Swap menu but won't change your FeCs so you are stuffed if you upload newer maps hence why you need to have found your release before you mess it up !. Been there, done that, locked myself out for a month.

I have a post on here of my experiments, post 699 and the one after:


You will be able to mess your unit up if you do that !. You need the ECE 2015 link which you need to find so you can restore it back again if you load up Navdb where you do not have a valid Navigation FeC that covers a newer map release. The backend ruthlessly locks you out of setting a navigation route by suspending visual navigation, voice remains present.

The good point is you have access to the Swap menu of what it will look like if you get your unit converted into a retrofit but otherwise you can't do anything else. If you use a Mac beware of the CleanMydrive stuff and the substitute of 7zip. The Mac garbage just one byte change will render the import useless since it will fail the signature check.
 
Last edited:
Jun 28, 2020
4
1
Hi Tell,

Thanks again for this detailed answer. This is far too complex for me... I'm going to see with my garage and ask them to upgrade if it is not too expensive.
I was expecting to do it for free as the car is 5 years old but what you explain makes me giving up that project.

Thanks again and hope you will find an easier solution maybe ;)
 

Tell

Full Member
Staff member
Moderator
Where Mapcare is available there are two options a one off upgrade to the map, the other is the three year period where you can update for three years yourself. The latter one costs about £600 last time I looked at Europe costs. The costing is perverse, about £120 at the time of buying the car where it's offered that gives you three years of upgrades, when it runs out £600 for another three years... or just buy a VW or Skoda where Mapcare is free for life and isn't marketed since you got it for life. Its one of those areas where Seat is dragging it's feet - navigation standard has a workaround, high / plus unit doesn't. (I amuse myself by reading German Ateca threads where they moan about the costs once their three years comes up)

So yes, report back with costs for interest. I've looked the part numbers up before on this thread for people. You can see why people go for the retrofit approach on the high since it works out cheaper if you get the Navigation FeC set high and they do a good job.

That's the three years one:


In the UK it's provided with a one year limit on new Seats then you are on your own I believe. On my Plus unit the dealer claimed there were no new maps when there were. With cockpit view its even more important since Android / iOS doesn't get displayed in that area, its a feature of integrated infotainment navigation.
 

Tell

Full Member
Staff member
Moderator
I'm monitoring all channels as they say and nothing has been released yet for the standard maps. We will have to see whether they pop the 16gb SD for the all Europe map whether it's this time round or the next. You just buy a Skoda 32 GB mib2 card when that happens and do the workaround.

Noise on the Skoda side is that they have just released the November maps but with different serial number to VW, but they are six months old, so the attention is on VW site for Skoda people in the know. No change on Skoda servers to the June release. Checked today on both (Skoda servers are rubbish in anycase). Have a couple off Skoda VINs I use to inspect their releases.

May be next Monday as a guess. Germanically well organized. Check Martini on the Skoda side who found the pre released ones previously but reckon VW are wise to putting stuff up on public view on the servers before the webpage is written these days.

Best link in German if I get run over by a bus, constantly updated thread, post 1 always gives the latest but you have the history releases:


Amundsen MIB2 = Seat standard

Columbus MIB2 / MIB1= Seat Plus / High


VW world:

Discover = standard

Discover = Plus / High
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Slickric21

Tell

Full Member
Staff member
Moderator
Note VW have changed their servers so anything that gives a direct link to the files has changed

what was


is now


That's a cut and paste. if you click on a link with the old url you need the new url if it's a standard MIB2 map... :).

eg.


is now


etc.

Seems to be good correction for the standard VW MIB2 links. The high ones they have played about with the end of the text. Given the majority of people have standard unit possibly not an issue.

I will edit my own key posts to reflect this so they still work.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Slickric21
SEATCUPRA.NET Forum merchandise